What are the reporting fees?
Companies/facilities submitting Nevada Combined Agency Hazardous Materials Reports are subject to annual fees. There is a $150 State Fire Marshal permit and surcharge fee per facility pursuant to NAC 477.323 and NRS 477.045.
The State Emergency Response Commission collects fees pursuant to NRS 459.744 and NAC 459.9918, et. Seq. These statutes require a $100 fee for reports filed pursuant to 40 C.F.R. Part 370, Subpart B. A fee of $100 is required for each facility which stores Extremely Hazardous Substances Materials (EHS) from the EPA List of Lists at or above the threshold planning quantity and/or Non-EHS Hazardous Materials exceeding 10,000 pounds. A surcharge of $100 is owed for each ton of extremely hazardous material stored in excess of one ton. These fees and surcharges are limited and the aggregate amount charged to a company will not exceed $7,500 in a calendar year.
There is a fee of $100 for the manufacture for transport of an extremely hazardous material and a $100 surcharge for each ton of material which is manufactured for transport. These fees are limited and the aggregate amount charged to a company will not exceed $2,000 in a calendar year.
Payment to the SERC is made through the SFM. Submission of reports and fees to the SFM accomplishes reporting and payment to the SERC.
How is fee payment made?
Payment of the required fees may be made online in conjunction with the online submission of the Nevada Combined Agency Hazardous Materials Facility Report. After submitting the report online, you may choose to make an online payment by use of an “e-check”. Required e-check information includes the bank name, bank account number, routing number and check number.
An alternative to online payment is to send a check to the State Fire Marshal’s Division with a copy of the invoice received after the online submission of the Nevada Combined Agency Hazardous Materials Facility Report.
If you do not have Internet access, you will send your Nevada Combined Agency Hazardous Materials Facility Report to the State Fire Marshal in hard copy first and then you will be invoiced for payment after submission.
Are there exemptions to reporting fees?
There are no exemptions to the State Fire Marshal facility permit fee except for Federal Facilities. Federal Facilities must still report, but are exempt from Fire Marshal and SERC fees.
What are the reporting fees used for?
The permit and surcharge fees received are used by the State Fire Marshal’s office to train emergency responders to handle hazardous materials incidents and to provide information on hazardous materials to the local fire authorities. Hazardous materials training is also available to private industry. Specialized training for specific chemicals can be arranged on request. Information on hazardous materials reported on these forms is provided directly to fire departments. All fees have been established in the Nevada Administrative Code 477.323.
The chemical and tonnage fees collected by the SERC are used to support the planning, training and equipment purchase activities of the LEPCs and to gather the data in a usable format to support local emergency personnel in planning for and responding to emergencies at or near your facility.