COMPLIANCE DATES

AS OF JULY 1, 2010

ALL CIGARETTES
SOLD IN NEVADA
MUST BE
FIRE STANDARD
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PER THE NRS 477.172
THROUGH
NRS 477.214
CONTACT THE
NEVADA STATE FIRE
MARSHAL FOR
MORE DETAILS
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How To ldentify

All cigarette packaging must have the
letters “FSC” near the Universal
Product Code (UPC). All cartons,
boxes, and packages will be labeled.
Identification Includes:

e The marking “FSC”
e Not less than 8-pt Type

e Uniformly marked the same on all
brands of cigarettes
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EDUCATING THE PUBLIC

Manufacturers and wholesalers - Many actively par-
ticipated in legislation and internally prepared for both
production and distribution to meet timelines. They are
responsible to provide each retailer with examples of
packaging markings to indicate that cigarettes are fire
safer. In March 2010, a letter from the Nevada Fire Mar-
shal was sent to wholesalers advising that manufacturers,
as of July 1, 2010, could only sell fire safer cigarettes to
Nevada wholesalers. This provided time for wholesalers
and retailers to reduce non-compliant product .

Retailers - All cigarette brands need markings to indicate
they are Fire Standard Compliant Cigarettes. These are
provided by manufacturers and wholesalers selling to
retailers. The Nevada Department of Taxation regulate
the cigarette taxes and the Nevada State Fire Marshal
regulates the Fire Standard Compliant laws. Retailers
need to make sure they fulfill all requirements to both
state agencies.

Consumers - Consumers should feel comfortable know-
ing the cigarettes they buy are fire safer. For any con-
cerns, contact the State Fire marshal Division.

Media - Media actively participated in promoting the
news from legislation to implementation of this new law.
Their visible efforts have increased public awareness of
changes in Nevada’s law to sell only self-extinguishing
cigarettes, which will reduce the number of fires, injuries,
and fire deaths caused by cigarettes. They have also
actively targeted the responsibilities of those manufactur-
ing and selling cigarettes in Nevada.

NO ROOM TO BURN

Stateline.org

A self-extinguishing cigarette
Twenty-one states - including 15 this year - have
passed laws requiring all cigarettes sald to be

"fire-safe.” These cigarettes use two ar three added
bands of paper.

The bands
of less-porous
material are inserted
inside the cigarette and
should extinguish the fire if the

cigarette is not being smoked.

Graphic by Danny Dougherty, Staleing. g

Sources: Copalition Ter Fire-Safe Cigarettes and Philip Marris USa

FINES
Manufacturers and Wholesalers:

$10,000 or five times the wholesale invoice cost of
the cigarettes.

Retailers:
$500 when selling up to 1,000 cigarettes

$1000 or five times the retail value (whichever is
greater) when selling more than 1,000 cigarettes

Violators may be fines separately for each day they
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