PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE
STATE FIRE MARSHAL

LCB File No. R123-13
NOTICE OF INTENT TO ACT UPON A REGULATION

Notice of Public Hearing
for the Amendment of Regulations of the
State Fire Marshal

The State Fire Marshal will hold public hearings at the following locations on December
17, 2014 at 9:00 am:

PUBLIC HEARING

CARSON CITY

University of Nevada Cooperative Extension
2621 Northgate Lane, Suite 12

Carson City, NV

PUBLIC HEARING

LAS VEGAS

8050 Paradise Road

Life Long Learning Center Room A
Las Vegas, NV

PUBLIC HEARING

ELKO

Great Basin College

1500 College Parkway

High Tech Center Building, Room 137

Elko, NV

Video conferencing will be provided to all location sites above.

The purpose of the hearing is to receive comments from all interested persons
regarding the adoption of proposed amendments to regulations (LCB File No. R123-13),
that pertains to Chapter 477 of the Nevada Administrative Code.

The following information is provided pursuant to the requirements of NRS 233B.0603:
1. The need for and the purpose of the proposed regulation or amendment.

a. Revision of the State Fire Marshal’s regulations to comply with the
requirements of the following bills from previous legislative sessions:

i. AB 304 of the 2011 general session related to fire performers and
apprentice fire performers;



ii. AB 526 of the 2011 general session related to prioritization of state
building inspections by the State Fire Marshal;

iii. SB 74 of the 2013 general session related to a reduction of charges
for copies of documents from $0.55 to $0.50 per page.

b. Addition of the adoption of a reference guide for first responders to
accidents and incidents pursuant to NRS 459.773.

c. Periodic updating of the editions of codes and standards as required by
NRS 477.030(1) to allow for new technologies, techniques and materials
in construction.

d. Periodic, comprehensive review and updating, in accordance with NRS
233B.050(1)(e), to the State Fire Marshal's regulations in NAC Chapter
477 to comply with existing statute and industry practices, remove
outdated requirements and correct spelling and other language issues
found during the review.

2. Either the terms or the substance of the regulations to be adopted, amended or
repealed, or a description of the subjects and issues involved.

The proposed regulation is a comprehensive review and update to the regulations of
the State Fire Marshal due to legislative changes in the 2011 and 2013 general
sessions; an update to licensing requirements to comply with existing statute and
industry practices; existing statutory requirements; and other matters properly
relating thereto. A summary of the changes are as follows:

a. Adoption of the reference guide for use by first responders to accidents and

C.

incidents that may involve hazardous materials in accordance with NRS
459.773.

Updating codes and standards previously adopted by the State Fire Marshal
to those published by the model code organizations. Currently the State Fire
Marshal adopts the 2006 editions. In concert with local government officials,
a six-year cycle for code updates to take advantage of new technologies and
techniques was previously agreed upon versus the three-year code
publication cycle. Code amendments are minimized to stay consistent with
the base level model codes, changes proposed in this amendment package
are due to either the new edition of the model code includes the content of a
previous state amendment, format changes to the model code required
changes to maintain the intent of a previous state amendment or retroactive
provisions that do not appear in existing regulations or the initial draft of the
2015 edition of the fire code have been deleted.

Changes required by AB 304 of the 2011 general sessions related to fire
performers and apprentice fire performers.

d. A reduction in copy fees from $0.55 per page to $0.50 per page to comply

with SB 74 of the 2013 general session.



e. Requirements to incorporate the Nevada Secretary of State business license
number on various applications and forms used by the division.

f. Deletion of the background investigation requirement imposed on certain
contractor categories, but not others.

g. Revision of what is considered excessive setback requirements for portable
buildings to bring their requirements in line with the model building code.

h. Deletion of the requirement to obtain fingerprint cards and passport photos
from applicants for a license to conduct blasting as the Division does not use
either in the conduct of its normal business and no statutory authority can be
found for the fingerprint card requirement.

i. Construction requirements for state buildings has been revised through
consultations with the staff of the State Public Works Division and the state’s
two university facility departments in order to be more responsive to the
needs of state agencies while maintaining a minimum level of safety that is
applied in a predictable and coordinated manner.

j. Revisions to reflect the requirements of AB 526 of the 2011 general session
requiring the State Fire Marshal adopt a prioritized schedule for the inspection
of state buildings.

k. Various minor editorial changes and typographic corrections throughout the
chapter are included.

. The estimated economic effect of the regulation on the business which it is to
regulate and on the public. These must be stated separately and in each case
must include:

a. Both adverse and beneficial effects; and

b. Both immediate and long-term effects.

Adverse effect: No adverse effects are anticipated as no new requirements or
restrictions are proposed by the regulation.

Beneficial effect: The ability of the design and construction community to use
current codes and standards that recognize newer materials, techniques,
processes and systems and allow for some small business occupancies to be
considered residential properties instead of one of the commercial occupancy
groups in the newer code editions will immediately benefit the businesses
involved.

Immediate effect: The updated construction and safety standards will become
effective immediately upon approval of this regulation.

Long-term effect: A documented approach to fire and life safety, working in
concert with local governments, will provide a predictable and consistent level of
safety statewide.



4. The estimated cost to the agency for enforcement of the proposed regulation.
There are no known additional enforcement costs to the Division.

5. A description of and citation to any regulations of other state or local
governmental agencies which the proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates and
a statement explaining why the duplication or overlapping is necessary. If the
proposed regulation overlaps or duplicates a federal regulation, the notice must
include the name of the regulating federal agency.

The State Fire Marshal is required by NRS 477.030(1) to adopt as the minimum
threshold, rules for the prevention of fire; the storage and use of combustibles,
flammables and fireworks; explosives in commercial construction, except mining or
avalanche control; and the safety, access, means and adequacy of exit in case of
fire from mental and penal institutions, facilities for the care of children, foster
homes, residential facilities for groups, facilities for intermediate care, nursing
homes, hospitals, schools, all buildings, except private residences, which are
occupied for sleeping purposes, buildings used for public assembly and all other
buildings where large numbers of persons work, live or congregate for any purpose.
NRS 477.033 also requires the State Fire Marshal to license parties involved in the
maintenance, installation or sale of fire extinguishers, fire alarm systems, or fire
sprinkler systems; the use of explosives in any commercial construction, excluding
mining or avalanche control; and commercial fireworks displays.

There is no known overlap or duplication related to this regulation.

6. If the regulation is required pursuant to federal law, a citation and description of
the federal law.

Not required by federal law.

7. If the regulation includes provisions which are more stringent that a federal
regulation that regulates the same activity, a summary of such provisions.

There are no federal standards that apply in this circumstance.

8. Whether the proposed regulation establishes a new fee or increases an existing
fee.

This regulation does not establish a fee. No existing fees are increased. One
existing fee will be reduced, that being the cost per page for copies of records will
change from $0.55 to $0.50.



Persons wishing to comment upon the proposed action of the State Fire Marshal may
appear at the scheduled public hearing and/or may address their comments, data,
views, or arguments in written form to:

Denesa Johnston, Administrative Assistant
djohnston@dps.state.nv.us

Nevada State Fire Marshal Division

107 Jacobsen Way

Carson City, NV 89711

Written comments, data, views, or arguments must be received by the State Fire
Marshal Division by 1pm on Friday, December 12, 2014, in order to be considered. If
no person who is directly affected by the proposed action appears to request time to
make an oral presentation, the State Fire Marshal may proceed immediately to act upon
any written submissions.

Members of the public who are disabled and required accommodations or assistance at
the meeting are requested to notify Denesa Johnston at the Nevada State Fire Marshal
Division in writing or by calling 775-684-7525 no later than five working days prior to the
meeting.

A copy of this notice and the regulation to be amended will be on file at the State
Library, 100 Stewart Street, Carson City, Nevada, for inspection by members of the
public during business hours. Additional copies of the notice and the regulation to be
amended will be available at the following offices of the State Fire Marshal, and in all
counties in which an office of the agency is not maintained, at the main public library, for
inspection and copying by members of the public during business hours:

Nevada State Fire Marshal Division offices are located at:

107 Jacobsen Way
Carson City, Nevada

3920 E Idaho Street
Elko, Nevada

215 E Bonanza Road
Las Vegas, Nevada

and at the Nevada State Fire Marshal's website: http://fire.nv.gov

This notice and the text of the proposed regulation are also available in the State of
Nevada Register of Administrative Regulations, which is prepared and published
monthly by the Legislative Counsel Bureau pursuant to NRS 233B.0653, and on the
Internet at http://www.leg.state.nv.us. Copies of this notice and the proposed regulation




will also be mailed to members of the public upon request. A reasonable fee may be
charged for copies if it is deemed necessary.

Upon adoption of any regulation, the agency, if requested to do so by an interested
person, either before adoption or within 30 days thereafter, will issue a concise
statement of the principal reasons for and against its adoption and incorporate therein
its reason for overruling the consideration urged against its adoption (NRS
233B.064(2)).

This notice and regulation has been faxed, emailed or delivered for posting at the
following locations:

Nevada State Public Works Board Carson City, NV
Nevada State Board of Professional

Engineers and Land Surveyors Reno, NV
Nevada Board of Architecture Las Vegas, NV
Carson City Library Carson City, NV
Churchill County Library Fallon, NV

Las Vegas-Clark County Library Dist. Las Vegas NV
Douglas County Library Minden, NV

Elko County Library Elko, NV
Esmeralda County Library Goldfield, NV
Eureka County Library Eureka, NV
Humboldt County Library Winnemucca, NV
Battle Mountain Branch Library (Lander Cnty) Battle Mountain, NV
Lincoln County Library Pioche, NV

Lyon County Library System Yerington, NV
Mineral County Public Library Hawthorne, NV
Pershing County Library Lovelock, NV

Storey County Public Library
c/o Storey County Treasuers & Clerk’s Office
Virginia City, NV
Tonopah Public Library (Nye County) Tonopah, NV
Washoe County Library System Reno, NV
White Pine County Library Ely, NV



PROPOSED REGULATION OF THE
STATE FIRE MARSHAL

LCB File No. R123-13
Small Business Impact Statement

Pursuant to NRS 233B.0609(1), the State Fire Marshal is required to make a
determination whether its proposed regulations will: (a) impose a direct and significant
economic burden upon small business, and (b) directly restrict the formation, operation,
or expansion of small business. NRS 233B.0382 defines a small business to be any
business that employs 150 or fewer employees.

The State Fire Marshal has considered the two factors in NRS 233B.0608(1) and has
determined that a Small Business Impact Statement is not required pursuant to NRS
233B.0609 based upon the following:

1. The State Fire Marshal is statutorily directed by NRS 477.030(1) and 477.033,
NRS 459.773 and NRS 233B.050(1)(e) to create, amend or delete regulations
regarding the protection from fire and other life safety issues and the licensing of
contractors in fire protection-related fields.

2. The base fee schedule adopted by the State Fire Marshal has remained
unchanged since 2001, with the exception of the elimination in 2011 of a license
discount for some licensees whereby some licensees paid differing amount for
the same license category. Said discount was found to be unauthorized by
statute and was felt to be unfair to the industry. At the time of the change, the
general fund revenues to the Division were reduced by the anticipated increase,
or “windfall” in fees to be received.

No existing fees are created or increased by these regulations.

One existing fee for copies of documents is being reduced from $0.55 to $0.50
per page in accordance with SB 74 of the 2013 general session.

Therefore, the State Fire Marshal makes the following finding:
1. The proposed regulation amendments will not impose a direct and significant

economic burden upon small business and will not directly restrict the formation,
operation, or expansion of small business.



Peter J. ihill, P.E., Nevada State Fire Marshal
Nevada Department of Public Safety

State Fire Marshal Division

107 Jacobsen Way

Carson City, NV 89711



REVISED PROPOSED REGULATION OF
THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL
LCB File No. R123-13

August 27,2014

EXPLANATION — Matter in italics is new; matter in brackets |emitted-matertat| is material to be omitted.

AUTHORITY: §§1, 2, 4-6, 8, 11, 13, 17-28, 33 and 36-43, NRS 477.030; §3, NRS 459.773 and
477.030; §§7, 12 and 14-16, NRS 477.030 and 477.033; §9, NRS 477.030,
477.031 and 477.045; §§10 and 35, NRS 477.030., 477.031 and 477.033; §§29-
32 and 34, NRS 477.030 and 477.031.

A REGULATION relating to fire protection; adopting and revising certain publications by
reference; revising provisions relating to examinations for certificates of registration
issued by the State Fire Marshal; revising various provisions relating to interior design,
fire systems, portable fire extinguishers and fixed fire extinguishing systems, portable
buildings, automatic sprinkler systems, residential systems, day care facilities and
fireworks displays; revising provisions relating to reports of deficiencies identified
during an inspection of an automatic fire sprinkler system or fire standpipe system;
revising the requirements for certificates of registration and licenses issued by the State
Fire Marshal; establishing a prioritized schedule for inspections of state-owned and
state-occupied buildings; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

Legislative Counsel’s Digest:
Existing law requires the State Fire Marshal to adopt regulations relating to fire protection.
(NRS 477.010-477.050) This regulation makes various changes regarding fire protection.

Section 3 of this regulation adopts by reference the 2012 Emergency Response Guidebook as
a reference guide for responding to accidents and incidents involving hazardous materials.
Section 5 of this regulation adopts by reference the 2012 editions of the International Fire Code,
the International Building Code, the International Wildland-Urban Interface Code, the Uniform
Mechanical Code and the Uniform Plumbing Code and adopts by reference various codes and
standards of the National Fire Protection Association. Section 6 of this regulation sets forth
changes to those publications adopted by reference. Sections 9, 10, 12, 15, 18-22, 25-29, 32-38,
and 41-43 of this regulation make conforming changes to references to these publications.

=
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Section 7 of this regulation: (1) requires each person who acts as a fire performer or
apprentice fire performer to obtain a certificate of recognition in accordance with chapters 477 of
NAC and NRS; and (2) revises certain requirements for firms that do business in this State and
which are required to be licensed by the State Fire Marshal.

Section 8 of this regulation: (1) revises the cities in which the State Fire Marshal will, by
appointment, conduct examinations for certificates of registration; and (2) provides that the State
Fire Marshal may conduct such examinations in additional locations if there is sufficient demand
for the additional locations.

Section 10: (1) revises the specific types of licenses that are issued by the State Fire Marshal
to install or maintain portable fire extinguishers and fixed systems; (2) removes the biennial
renewal of a blaster’s certificate of registration; and (3) revises the costs for all copy service that
is provided by the State Fire Marshal Division of the Department of Public Safety.

Section 11 of this regulation revises provisions governing the types and frequency of
inspections required for fixed fire extinguishing systems, fire alarm systems, standpipe systems,
fire extinguishers, fixed hood systems, fire hydrants and underground fire sprinkler systems, and
appurtenances thereof.

Sections 7, 12 and 15 require certain firms and other applicants for a license or certificate of
registration to include in an application for a license or certificate of registration the number of
the applicant’s state business license or other unique identification number provided by the
Secretary of State. Section 22 of this regulation requires certain licensees to provide evidence to
the State Fire Marshal or the authority having jurisdiction that the licensee has a valid state
business license issued by the Secretary of State.

Section 14 of this regulation eliminates the requirement for a firm engaged in the installation
or maintenance of portable fire extinguishers to possess a license issued by the State Contractors’
Board. Section 16 of this regulation eliminates a requirement that certain new employees must
pass a background investigation to continue to perform service on portable fire extinguishers or
fixed fire extinguishing systems. Section 17 of this regulation provides that, with certain
exceptions, the internal components of all portable fire extinguishers must be examined as
required in that section.

Section 18 revises certain requirements regarding a new or relocated portable building.

Section 21 revises certain reporting requirements for licensed firms that are required to report
deficiencies identified during an inspection of an automatic fire sprinkler system. Section 38
makes similar changes with respect to inspections of fire standpipe systems.

Section 23 of this regulation provides that residential fire sprinkler systems must be installed
in accordance with the regulations of the State Fire Marshal and the edition of the applicable
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N.F.P.A. standards that were in effect at the time of installation. Section 24 of this regulation
makes conforming changes relating to these revisions to section 23.

Section 28 requires certain child care facilities to have an automatic sprinkler system that
meets certain requirements.

Sections 13, 29-32, 35 and 36 of this regulation revise requirements to obtain certain licenses
and certificates of registration issued by the State Fire Marshal. Specifically: (1) section 13
revises the requirements for a certificate of registration to engage in the installation, repair,
restoration or testing for maintenance of a fire system; (2) section 29 revises the requirements for
a certificate of registration as an assistant pyrotechnic operator; (3) section 30 revises the
requirements for a certificate of registration that a pyrotechnic operator or an assistant to a
pyrotechnic operator may obtain for a specific show; (4) section 31 revises the requirements for
certificates of registration as a fire performer and an apprentice fire performer; (5) section 32
revises the requirements for a certificate of registration as a flame effects assistant; (6) section 35
revises the requirements for a certificate of registration for blasting; and (7) section 36 revises
the requirements for a license to service and clean Type | exhaust system grease ducts.

Section 39 of this regulation revises provisions governing which new buildings owned by the
State must be equipped with an automatic fire suppression system. Section 40 provides the
criteria that the State Fire Marshal will apply to determine how often the State Fire Marshal will
inspect each state-owned or state-occupied building. Section 41: (1) revises the criteria for
determining whether an existing building owned by the State must be scheduled for installation
of an automatic fire suppression system during the next remodeling of or addition of the
building: and (2) expands certain provisions which govern state-owned buildings to also apply to
state-occupied buildings. Section 43 of this regulation revises provisions governing which new
commercial buildings must be equipped with an automatic fire suppression system.

Section 1. Chapter 477 of NAC is hereby amended by adding thereto the provisions set
forth as sections 2 and 3 of this regulation.
Sec. 2. “Category 2 resident” has the meaning ascribed to it in NAC 449.1595.

Sec. 3. The State Fire Marshal hereby adopts by reference the 2012 Emergency Response

Guidebook published by the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration of the
United States Department of Transportation. A copy of the publication is available, free of
charge, from the State Fire Marshal, 107 Jacobsen Way, Carson City, Nevada 89701, from the
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Division of Emergency Management of the Department of Public Safety, 2478 Fairview Drive,

Carson City, Nevada 89701, or at the Internet address http://phmsa.dot.gov.

Sec. 4. NAC 477.010 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.010  As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires, the words and terms
defined in NAC 477.020 to 477.270, inclusive, and section 2 of this regulation have the
meanings ascribed to them in those sections.

Sec. 5. NAC 477.281 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477281 1. The State Fire Marshal hereby adopts by reference the following nationally
recognized codes with additions and deletions as noted in NAC 477.283:

(a) International Fire Code, 12006} 2012 edition, including appendices B, C {and ¥}, F and

H. A copy is available from the International Code Council 4854+ WestFlossmoeorReoads

by mail at

25442 Network Place, Chicago, Illinois 60673-1254, or at the Internet address

< s aoas s
o7

-+ http://www.iccsafe.org, at the price of {$67:25} $76.50

o [=)

for members and {$89-75} $102.00 for nonmembers.
(b) International Building Code, {20606} 2012 edition. A copy is available from the

International Code Council 4854 WestHlessmoorReadCountry-Clab-HillsHineis-60478-
5795 or-from-the-International-Code-Counett} by mail at 25442 Network Place, Chicago,

Illinois 60673-1254, or at the Internet address

http://www.iccsafe.org, at the price of {$82-50} $94 for members and {$110-66} $125 for

nonmembers.
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(c) International Wildland-Urban Interface Code, 12609} 2012 edition, including Appendices

A and B. A copy is available from the International Code Council 405+ WesttlossmoorReoad:

by mail at

25442 Network Place, Chicago, Illinois 60673-1254, or at the Internet address

4 http://www.icesafe.org, at the price of {53366} $§36.50

for members and {$44-25} $48.50 for nonmembers.

(d) Uniform Mechanical Code, {2006} 2012 edition. A copy is available from the International
Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials =560 by matil at 4755 East Philadelphia
Street, Ontario, California 91761-2816, or Hrem-the-tnternational-Assoetationof Plumbinsand
Mechanieal Officials} at the Internet address http://publications.iapmo.org, at the price of
17840} $88.80 for members and {$98-00} $111.00 for nonmembers.

(e) Uniform Plumbing Code, {2666} 2012 edition. A copy is available from the International
Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials, {5004} by mail at 4755 East Philadelphia
Street, Ontario, California 91761-2816, or Hrem-thetnternational-Asseciation-of Plumbingand
Mechanieal-Officials} at the Internet address http://publications.iapmo.org, at the price of
157840} $88.80 for members and $$98-664 $111.00 for nonmembers.

2. In addition to the codes adopted pursuant to subsection 1, the State Fire Marshal hereby
adopts by reference the following codes and standards of the National Fire Codes to supplement

other codes adopted in this chapter:

(a) N.F.P.A. 10, 2010 edition ;

(b) N.F.P.A. 11,2010 edition ; &

(c) NFPA. 12,12

1 2011 edition;
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(d) N.F.P.A. 124, 2009 edition ; fwhich-is-availablefor the price 0£$41.50:
(e) N.F.P.A. 13, |2

4 2013 edition;
() N.F.P.A. 13D, 2 2013 edition;
(g) N.F.P.A.13R, {2 3 2013 edition;

(h) N.F.P.A. 14, 2010 edition ; |

(i) N.EP.A. 15,12

4 2012 edition;

() N.F.P.A. 16, 2 :} 2011 edition;
(k) N.F.P.A. 17,2009 edition ; -which-is-available-for-the-price-of$3750:}

(1) N.E.P.A. 17A, 2009 edition ; fs-which-is-availablefor the priceo£$32.00:

(m) N.F.P.A. 20, |20-0-edition,which-is-available-for-the-price-of- $48.50:} 2013 edition;
(n) N.F.P.A. 22, 2008 edition ; f--which-is-availablefor the-price-o£-$41-50:}

(0) N.F.P.A. 24, 2010-edition—which-is-available for the price o£$37.501 2013 edition;

(p) N.F.P.A.25, |2

3 2011 edition;
(q) N.F.P.A. 30, |2008-editionwhich-is-available-for-theprice-o£$48:50:} 2012 edition;
(r) N.F.P.A. 30B, R067-edition—which-is-avatlable-for the-price-of $44-50:} 2011 edition;

(s) N.E.P.A. 45,

3 2011 edition;
(t) N.F.P.A. 52, 2010 edition ; fvhichisavatlable for-the price e 548504
(u) N.F.P.A. 54, as adopted by reference by the Board for the Regulation of Liquefied
Petroleum Gas in NAC 590.610;

(v) N.F.P.A.55 |2

—69} 2013 edition;

(w) N.I'.P.A. 58, |2008-edition—which-tsavatabletorthe priceof 54850

G-
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—o} as adopted by reference by the Board for the Regulation of Liquefied Petroleum Gas in
NAC 590.600;

(x) N.F.P.A. 72, |2

—6 2013 edition;

) N.F.P.A.80, {2

-} 2013 edition;

(z) N.F.P.A. 85, 2011 edition;

(aa) N.F.P.A. 86, |2

—faa)} 2011 edition;

(bb) N.F.P.A.90A, |2

—bby} 2012 edition;

(cc) N.F.P.A. 90B, {2

—ee}} 2012 edition;
(dd) N.F.P.A. 96, {2008 edition, which-is-available for the price-0£ $37.50;
—ddy} 2011 edition;

(ee) N.F.P.A.99, |2

—teel} 2012 edition;
(ff) Section 18.3.4.5 of N.F.P.A. Standard 101, 2009 edition;

(gg) N.F.P.A. 102, 2

—B} 2011 edition;

(hh) N.F.P.A. 110, PoH0-editton—whichisavatable forthe priceof- 53750+

—+teeH 2013 edition;

siks
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(i) NEP.A. 111,

—hk 2013 edition;

(i) N.F.P.A. 122, 2010 edition;

(kk) N.F.P.A. 130, 2010 edition

ny

(1) N.F.P.A. 140, 2008 edition

"y

(mm) N.E.P.A. 150, 2

—da 2013 edition,

(nn) N.F.P.A. 160, 2

—ht 2011 edition;

(00) N.F.P.A. 385, |2

—mm)} 2012 edition;

(pp) N.E.P.A. 400, |2

—nn)} 2013 edition;
(q9) N.F.P.A. 407, 2007-edition-which-is-available-for-the-priee-of-$37:50;
—fee)} 2012 edition;

(rr) N.F.P.A. 409, |2

—fppy 2011 edition;

(ss) N.F.P.A. 410, 2010 edition fvhichisavatlableforthe-priceof$3750;
—tapts

(1) N.F.P.A. 415, |2008-edition~which-is-available for-the price-of-$32:00;
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—#H 2013 edition;

(uu) N.F.P.A. 418, {2

—ss)} 2011 edition;

(vv) N.F.P.A. 495, 2010 edition |

a0t ;

(ww) N.F.P.A. 704,

—tw} 2012 edition;

(xx) N.F.P.A. 750, 2010 edition

— Rt

(vy) N.F.P.A.909, 2010 edition

—ewst

(zz) N.F.P.A. 914, 2

—beeH 2010 edition;

(aaa) N.F.P.A 1122, 2013 edition;

(bbb) N.F.P.A. 1123, 2010 edition

NN

(ccc) N.F.P.A. 1124,

—z2y 2013 edition;

(ddd) N.F.P.A. 1126, {2

—{aaay} 2011 edition;
(eee) N.F.P.A. 1127, 2013 edition;

() N.EP.A. 1141, |2

-
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—bbb} 2012 edition;

(ggg) N.F.P.A. 1142,

—teee 2012 edition;

(hhh) N.F.P.A. 1144,

—ddedt 2013 edition;

(iij) N.F.P.A. 1194, |2

—feeel} 2011 edition;

(i) N.F.P.A. 1403, |2

—HD} 2012 edition;

(kkk) N.F.P.A. 1961, |2

—teeei} 2013 edition;
(1) N.F.P.A. 1962, 2008-edition—which-is-available-for-the-price-oF$37:50;
—hhkhky} 2013 edition;

(mmm) N.F.P.A. 1963, 2009 edition {-which-is-available forthe price of$37.50;
—tib}

(nnn) N.F.P.A. 1965, 2009 edition {-which-is-available for-the price- 0£$32-00:and
—ibt s

(0o0) N.F.P.A. 2001, {2008-edition—which-is-availablefor-the-price-of-$48-50-4} 2012 edition;

and

(ppp) N.F.P.A. 2010, 2010 edition.
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= A copy of each of the codes and standards is available

charge at the Internet address http://www.nfpa.org.

3. Where no specific codes or standards are specified in the International Fire Code, 2012
edition, the applicable standards of the N.F.P.A. may be used.

Sec. 6. NAC 477.283 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.283 1. The following changes are made to the {2866} 2012 edition of the
International Fire Code as adopted by reference in NAC 477.281:

(a) “International Fuel Gas Code” is deleted and replaced with “N.F.P.A. Standard 54, as
adopted by the Board for the Regulation of the Liquefied Petroleum Gas in NAC 590.610.”

(b) “International Mechanical Code™ is deleted and replaced with {2606} “2012 Uniform
Mechanical Code.”

b} (¢) “International Plumbing Code” is deleted and replaced with 2666} “2012 Uniform

Plumbing Code.”

(d) Section 105.6.20 is revised by adding a new paragraph to read as follows: “When a permit
is required to be obtained for hazardous material, the Nevada Combined Agency Hazardous
Material Facility Report must be completed and the appropriate fees paid.”

(e) Section 108 is deleted.

(f) el In section 202, in the definition of “High-Rise Building,” “75 feet (22 860 mm)” is

deleted and replaced with “55 feet (16 764 mm).”

=] e
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(g) In section 202, under “Occupancy Classification

o
.

=T

(1) The definition of “Institutional Group I-2” is revised by adding: **All portions of a
care facility which houses patients or residents which }is} are classified by the State Board of
Health as a *Category 2 {4 resident’ and which has an occupant load of more than 10 residents,

is classified as an 4+ ‘I-2” occupancy classification.”

e
(2) In the definition of “Institutional Group I-4, day care facilities,” “five” is deleted

and replaced with “six.”

(h) Section 308.1.4 is deleted.

—(n)-Seetion-508:3}

(i) Section 507.3 is revised by adding a {seeend} new paragraph to read as follows: “Subject

to the approval of the fire authority, if the required fire flow is not available for adequate fire

Lk
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protection, an approved automatic fire sprinkler system must be installed throughout the building
or buildings. The sprinkler system must meet the requirements of the appropriate N.F.P.A.
standard. The provisions of this paragraph do not apply if a fire sprinkler system is otherwise
required by this chapter or the adopted codes.”

He3t () Section 903.2.1.2 is revised by adding a new paragraph to read as follows:
“Occupancies containing a casino, regardless of occupancy classification, must be designed and

built with a sprinkler system classified as an ordinary Hazard Group 2.”

—s3 (k) Section 903.2 is revised by adding a new paragraph to read as follows: “In all

occupancies except group R-3 and U occupancies, a building that is more than two stories in

height, including any height added by usable floor space, must have an automatic sprinkler

w3
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system throughout. Any open parking garage and any airport control tower is exempt from

Hnstathing} this requirement to install an automatic sprinkler system.”

=

—w—Seetion90710H adding new sentences following the first sentence to read as follows:

“The internal components of carbon dioxide, wet chemical, halogenated agent, aqueous film-
Sforming foam (AFFF) and film-forming fluoroprotein (FFFP) portable fire extinguishers
shall be examined in accordance with N.F.P.A. Standard 10, table 7.3.1.1.2. The internal
components of all other portable fire extinguishers shall be examined annually.”

(m) Section 907.5.2.1.1 is revised by adding a new paragraph to read as follows: “The
minimum sound pressure levels of audible alarm notification appliances shall be 90 dBA in
mechanical equipment rooms and 80 dBA in all other occupancies.”

(n) Section 907.5.2.3 is revised by adding the following exceptions following exception

24 3:

-14--
LCB Draft of Revised Proposed Regulation R123-13



“4. Visible alarm notification appliances are not required in storage rooms,
electrical rooms and mechanical rooms that are not normally occupied and are less than

400 square feet.

Hh—aniter}

5. Visible alarm notification appliances are not required in janitor closets.

(0) Sections 1101.1 to 1104.24, inclusive, are deleted.

(p) Section 5601.1.3 is revised by deleting the first sentence and adding a new sentence to
read as follows: }Fhe} “Except as otherwise provided in in this section, the possession,
manufacture, storage, sale, use and handling of Class 1.3 and Class 1.4 pyrotechnics are only

allowed in jurisdictions where specifically approved by local ordinance.”

=
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(q) Section 6101.1 is revised by adding a new paragraph to read as follows: “In the event of
a conflict between any provision in this chapter and the regulations of the Board for the
Regulation of Liquefied Petroleum Gas, the regulations of the Board take precedence.”

(r) In section B105.2 {5} of Appendix B, *75 percent” is deleted and replaced with <50
percent.”

2. The following changes are made to the {2006} 2012 edition of the International Building
Code as adopted by reference in NAC 477.281:

(a) “International Fuel Gas Code” is deleted and replaced with “N.F.P.A. Standard 54, as
adopted by the Board for the Regulation of Liquefied Petroleum Gas in NAC 590.610.”

(b) “International Mechanical Code” is deleted and replaced with “2012 Uniform
Mechanical Code.”

(¢c) “International Plumbing Code” is deleted and replaced with “2012 Uniform Plumbing

Code.”

(d) Section H42} 113 is deleted.

-16--
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(e) In section 202, in the definition of “High-Rise Building,” “75 feet (22 860 mm)” is

replaced with “55 feet (16 764 mm).”
() To section {46342} 403.5.3 at the end of the last sentence, is added: “or an activation of
any fire alarm initiating device within the building or a failure of both the primary and backup

power supplies.”

) Ly £
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(g) In section 403.5.4, “75 feet (22 860 mm)” is deleted and replaced with “55 feet (16 764
mm).”
(h) Section 903.2.3 is revised by adding a new paragraph to read as follows: “In high schools

where automatic Hire} sprinkler systems are provided, the automatic {fire} sprinkler systems for

the automotive and woodworking shops must be designed to meet ordinary hazard group |

—h)-Seetion 9079 criteria.”

(i) Section 907.5.2.1.1 is revised by adding a new paragraph to read as follows: “The
minimum sound pressure level of audible alarm notification appliances shall be 90 dBA in
mechanical equipment rooms and 80 dBA in all other occupancies.”

(j) Section 907.5.2.3 is revised by adding the following exceptions following exception {23:}

“4. Visible alarm notification appliances are not required in storage rooms, electrical
rooms and mechanical rooms that are not normally occupied and are less than 400 square
feet.

5. Visible alarm notification appliances are not required in janitor closets.
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(k) In section H008+8-7} 1008.1.9.11, exception 3 is revised to read as follows: “In
stairways serving buildings other than high-rise buildings, doors are permitted to be locked on

the side opposite the egress side, provided that the doors can be opened from the egress side.

{Exeeptforexit-discharge-doorsthe-deers} Doors must automatically unlock upon the activation

of a fire alarm system or a fire sprinkler waterflow alarm faré}, or for a power failure. =

1 Exit discharge

doors must remain unlocked.”

i
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3. The following changes are made to the {2009} 2012 edition of the International
Wildland-Urban Interface Code as adopted by reference in NAC 477.281:
(a) Section 106 is deleted.
(b) In section 108.4, {“Seetion} “pursuant to Section 502" is deleted . {and-replaced-with
ORI N A
(¢) In section 302.3, “on a three-year basis or more frequently as deemed necessary by the

legislative body =} ” is deleted and replaced with “as deemed necessary by the code official.”

(d)

—)} Section 404.1 is revised by deleting “provided in order to qualify as a conforming water
supply for the purpose of Table 503.1 or as.”

Hh—tat

(e) Chapter 5 fseetions50+-+-to- 507 inclusiverare} is deleted.

5+ () Section 602.1 is deleted.

1} (g) Section 603.2 is revised by deleting “Building or structures, constructed in
compliance with the conforming defensible space category of table 503.1, shall comply with the

fuel modification distance contained in table 603.2.”
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1B} (h) Section B101.1 is fdeleted-and-replaced-withs} revised to read as follows: “Where

required, vegetation management plans must be submitted to the code official and the State
Forester Firewarden for review and approval as part of the plans required for a permit.”

4.  The following changes are made to the 2012 edition of the Uniform Mechanical Code

as adopted by reference in NAC 477.281:

(a) “International Fuel Gas Code” is deleted and replaced with “N.F.P.A. Standard 54, as
adopted by the Board for the Regulation of Liquefied Petroleum Gas in NAC 590.610.”

(b) “International Plumbing Code” is deleted and replaced with “2012 Uniform Plumbing
Code.”

5. As used in this section, “casino” means any room in which gaming is conducted,
including, without limitation, any bar, cocktail lounge or other facility housed therein as well as
the area occupied by the games. The term does not include any establishment that is operated
pursuant to a restricted license as defined in NRS 463.0189.

Sec. 7. NAC 477.300 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.300 1. All applications for licenses or certificates must be made to the State Fire
Marshal in the manner required by this chapter.

2. A person who performs any of the following work in this State, other than as the
employee of another, must obtain a license in accordance with this chapter and chapter 477 of
NRS and shall require each person employed by him or her to perform that work to obtain the

appropriate certificate of registration:
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(a) Selling, servicing, maintaining or installing any fire extinguisher, engineered or pre-
engineered fixed fire extinguishing system, fire alarm system, fire detection system, automatic
fire suppression system or fire standpipe system.

(b) Cleaning of'a Type | hood and duct and the removal of fuel.

(c) Blasting and using commercial explosives.

(d) Using and handling of pyrotechnics.

(e) Installing medical gas systems.

(f) Selling and installing heat detectors which will be used as devices for the early warning of
fires.

() Installing, servicing and repairing of underground fire sprinkler systems.

(h) Installing, servicing and repairing of underground fire hydrants.

(i) Testing of underground backflow.

(j) Flame effects.

(k) Retail selling of portable fire extinguishers.

(1) &
—#} Performing work as a magician.

{3 (m) Furniture, fixture and equipment interior design.

24 3. A person who acts as a fire performer or an apprentice fire performer must obtain
a certificate of registration in accordance with this chapter and chapter 477 of NRS.

4. The State Fire Marshal or the authorized representative of the State Fire Marshal may

inspect vehicles, equipment, buildings, devices, premises or any area to be used in performing

the activities permitted by the license or certificate.
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13} 5. The State Fire Marshal or his or her authorized representative may send a written
request to a licensed firm or a registrant requiring documentation to be provided to the State Fire
Marshal, including, without limitation, documentation relating to services performed by the firm
or registrant.

-} 6. A license or certificate issued by the State Fire Marshal remains the property of the
State Fire Marshal Division and must be renewed as required by NAC 477.310. The license or
certificate is not transferable, is revocable for cause and, except as otherwise provided in this
chapter, will not be issued to any person who has not reached 18 years of age.

{54 7. A licensee shall comply with any regulation adopted by a local authority which is
more stringent.

{64 8. All applications for a license for the installation and maintenance of systems for
protection from fire must be accompanied by a letter of certification from a manufacturer or
supplier of the system or material or parts for the system stating that the licensee has received
parts and materials for the installation, maintenance, servicing, testing and inspection of those
materials, items or systems.

9. Any firm thaving-mere-than-one-offiee} doing business in Nevada which must be
licensed by the State Fire Marshal, must {desiznate-one-office-as-the prineipal officeand pay-the

T
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= 5%

(a) If applicable, have a valid state business license issued by the Secretary of State;

(b) In all license applications and license renewal forms submitted to the State Fire
Marshal, include the state business license number or other unique identification number
assigned to the business by the Secretary of State; and

(¢) Be in compliance with all applicable regulations of the State Contractors’ Board.

10. A licensee shall:

(a) Upon request from the State Fire Marshal or the authority having jurisdiction,
immediately provide the password or any other information necessary to gain full access to any
system for the protection from fire which is within the licensee’s possession or control; and

(b) Upon termination of a service agreement with an owner of real property, immediately
provide to the owner or his or her representative the password or any other information necessary
to gain full access to any system for the protection from fire on or within the property.

{9} 11. A holder of a certificate of registration other than a holder of a certificate of
registration as a fire performer or an apprentice fire performer must:

(a) Be present at all job sites on which work requiring a license pursuant to this section will
be performed; and

(b) Directly supervise any employee that is not a holder of a certificate of registration.

HoO4 12, A designer of fire sprinkler or alarm systems must:

(a) Hold a Level II certification from the National Institute for Certification in Engineering
Technologies (NICET), or an equivalent certification; or

(b) Be licensed as a professional engineer pursuant to chapter 625 of NRS.

24
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H-+} 13, A designer of special hazard suppression systems must : f-en-eraftertantaryt-
2042+

(a) Hold a Level 11 certification from the National Institute for Certification in Engineering
Technologies (NICET), or an equivalent certification; or

(b) Be licensed as a professional engineer pursuant to chapter 625 of NRS.

H24 14.  To obtain further information and copies of materials to receive a Level Il
certification from the National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies, a designer
of fire sprinkler systems, alarm systems or special hazard suppression systems may contact the
National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies by mail at 1420 King Street,
Alexandria, Virginia 22314-2794, or by telephone at (888) 476-4238.

Sec. 8. NAC 477.313 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477313 1. The State Fire Marshal will schedule the various examinations so that an
applicant may take his or her examination within 90 days after the date of his or her application.
Examinations will be conducted at the State Fire Marshal’s Office in Carson City during
business hours with an appointment. Examinations for certificates of registration will also be
conducted by appointment in Htke-and} Las Vegas. The State Fire Marshal may also conduct
examinations for certificates of registration in additional locations within the State if he or she
determines that there is sufficient demand for the additional locations. No appointment for an
examination will be made until the applicant submits all required documentation to the State Fire
Marshal’s Office in Carson City.

2. Anapplicant who fails the examination or a part of the examination must wait 15

calendar days after the date of the examination and pay the fee for retaking an examination set

i,
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forth in NAC 477.325 before taking the test, or the failed part of the test, again. A person may
not take the test for the same class of license more than three times in 1 calendar year.

3. Anapplicant who already has a certificate in one classification may apply for licensing or
registration in a higher classification and, upon payment of the prescribed fee, will be tested only
on that part of the examination pertaining to the higher classification.

4. An applicant shall not engage in cheating activities relating to an examination, including,
without limitation:

(a) Copying answers from the test of another applicant;

(b) Using restricted materials, including, without limitation, answers to test questions;

(c) Offering to sell or distribute, or selling and distributing, test answers or questions; or

(d) Assisting others to engage in cheating activities.

5. The State Fire Marshal may revoke any certificate of registration if he or she determines
that the applicant engaged in any cheating activities proscribed by subsection 4. If it is
determined that the licensed firm of the applicant assisted the applicant in cheating activities, the
State Fire Marshal will revoke the license of the firm.

Sec. 9. NAC 477.323 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.323 1. A person shall not store a hazardous material in excess of the amount set forth
in the International Fire Code, 12606} 2012 edition, as adopted by reference pursuant to NAC
477.281, unless he or she has been issued an operational permit by the State Fire Marshal to store
that material. A permit must be renewed annually.

2. Permits may be revoked or suspended when, after investigation, the State Fire Marshal

determines that:

D
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(a) The permit is being used by a person other than the person to whom it was issued.

(b) The permit is being used for a location other than that for which it was issued.

(c) Any of the conditions or limitations set forth in the permit have been violated.

(d) The holder of the permit has failed, refused or neglected to comply with any order or
notice served upon him or her under the provisions of this chapter within the time provided
therein.

(e) A false statement or misrepresentation as to a material fact was made in the application
for the permit or the plans on which the permit was based.

3. The State Fire Marshal may suspend or revoke any permit if an inspection or
investigation reveals a hazardous condition that endangers the safety of any person, or if the
holder of the permit is not in compliance with this section. The State Fire Marshal may reinstate
a suspended permit after the holder of the permit has paid the annual fee and corrected all
deficiencies identified. A permit that has been revoked will not be reissued. A suspension will
not exceed 24 months, after which the permit will be reissued or revoked.

4. A permit may be issued to store, transport on-site, dispense, use or handle hazardous
materials in excess of the amount listed in the International Fire Code, 20666} 2012 edition,
section 105.6.20, for a fee of $90.

5. The State Fire Marshal will issue an operational permit for the manufacture, storage, sale
and handling of explosives, blasting agents or fireworks for a fee of $1,100 and, in addition
thereto, may charge a fee of $110 for each building or structure at the facility and an amount

equal to the actual expenses incurred for travel, salaries and administrative expenses.

7
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6. The $60 surcharge required by NRS 477.045 will be collected on all permits to store
hazardous materials, in addition to any other fees.

7. A permit expires on March [ of each year and must be renewed annually on or before
March 1 by paying the appropriate fee.

8. Revocation or suspension of a permit does not preclude the State Fire Marshal from
proceeding with a criminal investigation. Evidence from a criminal investigation may be used as
evidence in an administrative hearing for the revocation or suspension of a permit.

9. If a holder of a permit or an applicant for a permit intends to terminate the storage,
dispensing, handling or use of hazardous materials at a facility, the holder or applicant must
submit a plan to the State Fire Marshal outlining the proposed termination of the storage,
dispensing, handling or use of the hazardous materials at least 30 days before the date on which
the facility is to be closed. The plan must demonstrate that the reported quantities of materials
have been or will be transported, disposed of or removed in a manner that presents no hazardous
conditions to any person or property.

10. If a person is required to report hazardous materials to the State Emergency Response
Commission, the person must obtain a permit from the State Fire Marshal for such hazardous
materials.

Sec. 10. NAC 477.325 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.325 1. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, the schedule of fees for:

(a) A license to install or maintain portable fire extinguishers and fixed systems and a

blaster’s certificate of registration is as follows:
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(1) Type A for full service of portable fire extinguishers .........cccccoecvvvvinviinciiinnnnn $440.00
(2) Type B for portable fire extinguishers without hydrostatic service ..........cocoeuenne 357.50
(3) Type B-C or B-D for Type B with hydrostatic service (C is low pressure,

18 hgh Pressires BYANO Y. smunssumsssssns sossssssssscontsnssns oty S ess Esaoas s S S Ta0E 375.00

(4) Type E for fixed fire extinguishing systems:

(I) E-1 for theodiduet} pre-engineered syStemSs .........eeeveeeeeeecceeicnenncneincecieiecneen. 137.50
(LI} E-2 for all otherengineered SyStemMS . emsmsvimisssissammssyssssssms i s 137.50
() Both E=1 @A E-2 .. ooreecmmmimem st s rta s 275.00
(5) Type F for fire alarm ....ooveevoneeieeeecrcc e 440.00

(6) Type G for automatic sprinkler {system} systems, except those covered

by N.F.P.A. Standards 13D and I3R, 2013 eliIONS ........ ... ocoirinsssmissnmsiimssinssnmssissssssssssssisi 440.00
(7) Type G-U for all underground private fire {sprinklerwork-enly} service

LIRS, Grd tHElr QpPDUITCRIRCES i vuisevmssimss s s sy s e oy e s S S SRV E s bowesy 247.50

1B} (8) Type G-U for private hydrant repair, installation and

IMATNTENAIICE ..eeeieieiiieie et e e s e et e et e et e e e bt e e s e b as st e e sba e e e e sa e e ean s e esne s e ran e e e s e e asasseranseneesaneeans 247.50
B} (9) Type G-U for the testing of backflow devices ...........cccccvevveninnnininnncns 247.50

&3 (10) Type H for hood and duct cleaning..........cccceeeviiiiiiiniciieniieieeeeee e 440.00

HBT (11) Type | for standpipe SYSIEIMS ..o..iiiiiiiiiirieiieeiienie ettt 440.00

483} (12) Type ] for systems classified pursuant to N.F.P.A. {Standard13-

B-systems} Standards 13D and 13R, 2013 editions ................ooeeeeoeevecneeneiieiereseaeseennens 440.00
{51 (13) A new blaster’s certificate of regiStration ..........coceveeeienienninieneseeee 55.00
T

LCB Draft of Revised Proposed Regulation R123-13



{1 (15) Type MG license to install medical gas systems.......cccoeeeveeeiecveecveenennnane. 247.50

{453 (16) Type EWD (Early Warning Device) license to sell or install heat

T S v R A S A H AR oA AN b rans SR by RS RL RERAARAE AR RS 110.00
(b) A new certificate of registration (each class) .......ccocevvririiiiiiiiceecieeeeeee e 71.50
(e) Renewalof acertificate of registration...uwasnmpmpmasnissmmsiaiasssssig 33.00
(d) Issuance of a duplicate license or Certificate .........cuuvevreeririeiieeciiiiesececeeseeeeeeereans 11.00
(e) Change of information on a certificate or [iCense.........coeueevirieiiiiiiicceeeee 11.00
(f) An annual license for the sale at retail of all types of fire extinguishers .........c............. 27.50
(g) Retaking an examination or any part of an eXamination..........cccceevveveeeveeeeneeereecennenn 22.00

(h) A certificate of registration and license for codes and regulations in interior

(i) Renewal of a certificate of registration and license for codes and regulations
I INEETIOT AESIZI 1eivveerieeiieeece ettt er e ae e e e e e e st s esa s esaeesseesneesasaesseesnseanssesrseesneansnesnneesseas 50.00
) & eapyafthe regulations of the State Fire Marshal......oainnn s 11.00
2. The fees for a license do not apply to this State or its political subdivisions. The fees for
certificates of registration apply in all cases. A certificate of registration operates as a license for

a person to perform a specific job for a company licensed pursuant to this chapter and chapter

477 of NRS.

=30
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3. The State Fire Marshal will refund the fee for a license, less an administrative fee of
$38.50, if a written request for a refund, stating that the licensee has not, after being licensed,
engaged in any of the activities for which the license is issued. is received by the State Fire
Marshal within 30 days after the date of the issuance of the license.

4. The following fees are established for the administrative and regulatory services of the

State Fire Marshal Division:

(a) All copy service will be at the rate of {$2-75-for-the-first-eopy-and-55} 50 cents for each
page . phercatertorenchtteopenced}
(b) Fees for investigative services are as follows:
(1) For expert testimony rendered by the Division in a civil proceeding, the fee of $110 for
each hour of testimony or research will be charged.
(2) The actual costs for an investigation must be paid by the person investigated if the
person is found guilty.
(3) Investigative and hearing costs must be paid by the person investigated, if the hearing
officer finds in favor of the State Fire Marshal.
(c) The fee for the issuance of a license or certificate of compliance is $22. The State Fire
Marshal will issue a certificate of compliance:
(1) Annually for a licensed facility; or
(2) For a facility which is not licensed, annually after an inspection and the removal of
deficiencies, if any.
(d) The State Fire Marshal may charge a fee for any other inspection services. The rate for

this fee is $38.50 per hour or any fraction thereof. The first inspection may be conducted at no

.
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charge. A fee for subsequent reinspections will be charged for the actual cost of travel, salaries
and administrative expenses in addition to the inspection fee.

(e) The fee for witnessing any test for acceptance is $22 for each test requiring a separate fee
for certification.

(f) A fee may be charged for the costs associated with providing training programs. The State
Fire Marshal may waive this fee if a reasonable justification for doing so is provided.

(g) Instructional supplies and materials will be supplied at the approximate cost of providing
them.

(h) Fees for instructors are $22 per hour, or as set by contract for specific classes, plus per
diem and travel expenses.

(i) Any additional costs for service will be added, as well as an administrative fee of 5.5
percent of the total cost of each program.

(j) Costs of certification are based upon hours of training, but will not exceed $22. Fees will
be charged for any certification other than:

(1) Initial firefighter certification I and Il for a member of a volunteer fire department; or
(2) Certification for hazardous materials awareness and operations for all first responders

for a governmental agency.

(k) Additional fees equal to those charged for initial testing will be charged for retesting
those who fail.

(I) The State Fire Marshal will not collect fees pursuant to this section from a person if a third

party, such as the employer of the person, pays that fee.
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(m) Any service provided by the State Fire Marshal Division may be billed at the rate of
$38.50 per hour or the actual cost of providing the service, whichever is greater.

(n) Any service performed by a special deputy on behalf of the State Fire Marshal may be
billed, pursuant to an interagency agreement, at the rate of $38.50 per hour, the actual cost of
providing the service or any other rate specified by this chapter. The State Fire Marshal may
allow such fees or any part thereof to be collected and used by the agency supporting the special
deputy.

(o) Approval for equipment or materials which are not on a list published by a nationally
recognized testing laboratory, inspection agency or other organization concerned with product
evaluation will be issued annually for a fee of $550 per product, $38.50 per hour of research and
actual expenses incurred in evaluating the product. If a product or material is not approved, there
will be charged a fee of $38.50 per hour of research and actual expenses incurred in evaluating
the product, except that the minimum fee is $165. Approval of a product lapses if the:

(1) Product is modified;

(2) Name of the product or person manufacturing the product is changed;
(3) Ownership of the company is changed;

(4) Use of the product is changed; or

(5) Annual fee is not paid.

(p) Requests for statistical information received before the publication of the annual report
will be supplied as available. The administrative cost to receive such statistical information will

be calculated and assessed in accordance with this section.
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5. The State Fire Marshal may establish a fee for supplying copies of the annual report to
persons and agencies other than fire, legislative and state agencies. The fee will be limited to the
actual cost of the publication and distribution of the report, plus an administrative fee of $38.50.

6. The State Fire Marshal may refund all or part of any fee if he or she deems it appropriate.
To be eligible for a training refund, a registrant must give not less than 72 hours’ notice before
removing his or her name from the registration list. The State Fire Marshal may require the
registrant to provide written documentation of the notice.

7. For a plan review, the State Fire Marshal will collect an investigation fee in accordance
with section H-08} 109 of the International Building Code, {2006} 2012 edition.

Sec. 11. NAC 477.335 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.335 1. All pre-engineered or engineered fixed fire extinguishing systems, fire alarm
systems, standpipe systems, sprinkler systems, fire extinguishers, fixed hood systems, fire
hydrants and underground fire sprinkler systems, and any appurtenance thereof, must be
[visually-inspeeted} :

(a) Inspected as required by the appropriate adopted standards as published by the

N.F.P.A., including, without limitation, in accordance with the schedules frecommended-in-the

appropriate} required by those adopted standards . {as-published-by-the NJ-P-A-These

The inspections must be
conducted by a person licensed or certified by the State Fire Marshal to conduct such
inspections.

(b) Visually inspected on a quarterly basis. The visual inspections may be conducted by any

person, including an employee of a firm, who, in the opinion of the authority having jurisdiction,

sidea
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has sufficient knowledge of the system to conduct a visual inspection and who will maintain an
accurate record of such inspections of the system in the designated place for each system.

2. The authority having jurisdiction may visually inspect a fire protection system at any
time. All work must comply with the standards adopted for the system being installed. The
methods or equipment used in the installation must not vary from those required by the plans
pursuant to which the fire protection system is being installed and the applicable standard for that
fire protection system.

Sec. 12. NAC 477.345 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.345 1. Any firm that holds a license to service or install any fire alarm system,
standpipe system, residential sprinkler system or automatic sprinkler system must be properly
equipped and shall employ personnel who are qualified to install and perform service on fire
alarm systems, standpipe systems, assemblies for the prevention of backflow, residential
sprinkler systems, automatic sprinkler systems, fire hydrants and underground fire sprinkler
systems, and any appurtenance thereof, and must possess a state contractor’s license which is
pertinent to the work being performed. Licenses will be issued in Heur} five basic classifications:

(a) Type E: Authorizes the holder to design the placement of, install, maintain and service
engineered or pre-engineered fixed fire extinguishing systems.

(b) Type F: Authorizes the holder to design the placement of, install, maintain and service
fire alarm systems.

(¢) Type G: Authorizes the holder to design the placement of, install, maintain and service

automatic sprinkler systems.
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(d) Type I: Authorizes the holder to design the placement of, install, maintain and service fire
standpipe systems.

(e) Type J: Authorizes the holder to design the placement of, install, maintain and service
residential sprinkler systems which are classified as H3-B} systems {-} purusant to N.F.P.A.
Standards 13D or 13R, 2013 editions.

2. Each application must be accompanied by the required fee {-be-netarized} and contain
the following information:

(a) The name, address and telephone number of the firm.

(b) Fictitious name used, if any.

(c) The type of work performed.

(d) The state business license number or other unique identification number assigned to
the firm by the Secretary of Stafte.

(e) Other pertinent information required by the State Fire Marshal.

3. Any firm that holds a license shall report, in writing, to the State Fire Marshal on or
before December 31 of each year the name and certificate number of each registrant employed
by the firm.

Sec. 13. NAC 477.348 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.348 A person who desires to engage in the installation, repair, restoration or testing for

maintenance of a fire system must possess a certificate issued by the State Fire Marshal. {Each
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syster-} The applicant must fthen} take and pass a written examination and pay the appropriate
fee.

Sec. 14. NAC 477.385 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.385 1. A firm that is licensed to install or maintain a portable fire extinguisher or
fixed fire extinguishing system or sell at retail or provide as a part of other sales at retail a
portable fire extinguisher or fixed fire extinguishing system for use within this State:

(a) Must be properly equipped and qualified to perform the service authorized by the type of
license issued;

(b) Must provide a shop or a vehicle as a place of business, properly equipped and subject to
inspection by the authority having jurisdiction; and

(c) If the firm is engaged in the installation or maintenance of {pertable-fire-extinsuishers-or}
fixed fire extinguishing systems, must possess a state contractor’s license appropriate to the work
performed as issued by the State Contractors’ Board.

2. Any advertisement that the services of selling, installing, charging or testing or other
maintenance of portable fire extinguishers or fixed fire extinguishing systems are available
constitutes prima facie evidence that the premises, business, building, room or establishment in
or upon which the advertisement appears or to which it refers is a separate location for business.

3. Licenses are classified and defined as follows:

(a) License for a public agency - Any type of license which is issued to the State or any of its
agencies or political subdivisions for work to be performed by the State or that agency or

political subdivision upon its own properties and for its own use. All requirements set forth in
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NAC 477.300 to 477.435, inclusive, except the requirement for a license issued by the State
Contractors’ Board, must be met.

(b) Restricted license - A license which authorizes the holder to perform work covered by the
license only upon his or her own properties and for his or her own use. All fees must be paid.
Unless otherwise exempted, a valid license issued by the State Contractors’ Board is required.

(c) License - A license which is required by NRS 477.033 but is issued to a business and is
not restricted.

4. Licenses for the sale at retail of portable fire extinguishers must conform to {the-standards
ofthe} N.F.P.A. Standard 10, 2010 edition, and meet the requirements for testing and listing of a
nationally recognized testing laboratory.

Sec. 15. NAC 477.395 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.395 1. Application for a license or a certificate of registration must be made on forms
prescribed by the State Fire Marshal.

2. Each application must be fretarized:} accompanied by the required fee and contain the
following information:

(a) The name, address and telephone number of the applicant.

(b) Fictitious names used, if any.

(c) Proof of insurance.

(d) The type of work performed.

(e) The state business license number or other unique identification number assigned to
the applicant by the Secretary of State, if any.

(f) Other pertinent information required by the State Fire Marshal.
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3. Upon passage of the written examination and any required practical tests or
demonstrations, a certificate of registration endorsed with the type of qualification will be issued
to each qualified person.

4. Information needed to pass the examination on portable fire extinguishers is found in:

(a) N.F.P.A. Standard 10, 2010 edition, “Standard for Portable Fire Extinguishers™; and

(b) NAC 477.380 to 477.435, inclusive.

5. Information needed to pass the examination on fixed fire extinguishing systems is found
in:

(a) N.F.P.A. Standard 12, {2008} 2011 edition, “Standard on Carbon Dioxide Extinguishing
Systems™;

(b) N.F.P.A. Standard 12A, 2009 edition, “Standard on Halon 1301 Fire Extinguishing
Systems™;

(c) N.F.P.A. Standard 17, 2009 edition, “Standard for Dry Chemical Extinguishing
Systems™;

(d) N.F.P.A. Standard 17A, 2009 edition, “Standard for Wet Chemical Extinguishing
Systems™’; and

(e) N.F.P.A. Standard 2001, {2008} 2012 edition, “Standard on Clean Agent Fire
Extinguishing Systems.”

Sec. 16. NAC 477.400 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.400 1. The provisions of NAC 477.385 do not prohibit new employees of a licensed

firm from performing service on portable fire extinguishers or fixed fire extinguishing systems
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for a maximum of 90 days after the beginning of employment, if the servicing is performed in
the presence and under the direct supervision of a registrant.

2. A new employee shall not perform service on portable fire extinguishers or fixed fire
extinguishing systems if, after the completion of the 90-day period, the new employee fails to
pass a written examination . fand-a-backeround-investigation} A conviction of a felony is a basis
for denial of a certificate of registration.

3. Within 7 calendar days after employing a registrant or new employee who performs
service on portable fire extinguishers or fixed fire extinguishing systems, a licensed firm must
report to the State Fire Marshal the name, address and certificate number of the registrant or the
name and address of the new employee.

4. A licensed firm shall report any termination of employment by a registrant within 7
calendar days. A registrant shall report any change in his or her address by written notice to the
State Fire Marshal within 7 calendar days after the change. The State Fire Marshal will issue a
new certificate of registration to the registrant upon receipt of the written notice and the payment
of the required fees.

5. A licensed firm shall report, in writing, to the State Fire Marshal on or before December
31 of each year the name and certificate number of each registrant employed by the firm.

See. 17. NAC 477.410 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.410 1. Allinstallation, inspection, maintenance and repair of portable fire
extinguishers and fixed fire extinguishing systems must be performed in accordance with
N.F.P.A. Standard 10, 2010 edition, fand-Standards} N.F.P.A. Standards 17 and 17A, 2009

editions, and the State Fire Marshal.
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2. Regardless of exceptions contained in the N.F.P.A.’s applicable standards, the internal

components of all portable fire extinguishers except {the} carbon dioxide , {extingtishers:} wet
chemical e o sentt, halogenated agent, aqueous

film forming foams (AFFF) and film forming fluroroprotein foam (FFFP) portable fire
extinguishers must be frecharced} examined at least annually and whenever the service seal has
been broken or an inspection indicates that the extinguisher might fail to function.

3. For the recharging of any dry chemical type of extinguishment cylinder to be valid, the
serviceperson must date and initial with a permanent marking pen on the topmost exposed
portion of the pick-up tube before reassembly and recharging. The date on the pick-up tube must
correspond to the date on the exterior service tag. Failure to date and initial the pick-up tube is
grounds for the immediate suspension or revocation of a certificate of registration. If possible, a
collar tag ring as required by N.F.P.A. Standard 10, 2010 edition, or an alternate collar tag ring
that is approved by the State Fire Marshal must be installed at the time the extinguisher is

recharged or serviced in the following manner:

(Colla 1mg

Fxnnguisher neck

.
38 of one m
clearance
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13-} 4. Nitrogen or approved dry air must be used as expellant when recharging dry chemical
type extinguishers unless the manufacturer recommends otherwise.

{41 5. Before a fire extinguishing system using a clean agent is accepted, a test as
referenced in N.F.P.A. Standard 12A, 2009 edition, must be performed and recorded.

154 6. Within 30 days before the date on which an extinguisher must be serviced, the owner
of a portable fire extinguisher may enter into a verbal service agreement for the service of that
extinguisher. Failure to comply with the provisions of this section by a person who holds a
certificate of registration is a ground for the immediate suspension or revocation of the certificate
of registration, and the person who holds the certificate of registration may be criminally or
civilly liable for fraud.

Sec. 18. NAC 477.441 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.441 1. A new or relocated portable building must:

(a) Be placed on a surface which is:

(1) Paved or composed of dirt or any other material which is noncombustible; and
(2) Free of combustible material.

(b) Have a skirt that is noncombustible or fire-resistant and which extends from the bottom of
the portable building to ground level.

(c) Have a zone of at least 5 feet that extends outward from the bottom of the skirt and which
is free of trash, debris, plants or any other combustible material in accordance with section 304

of the International Fire Code, {2006} 2012 edition.

—42--
LCB Draft of Revised Proposed Regulation R123-13



Be in compliance with section {50343} 503.1.2 of the International Building Code, {2006} 2012
edition.

(e) Have at least two means of egress, as that term is defined by the International Building
Code, 12006} 2012 edition.

(f) Provide illumination for each egress.

(g) Be equipped with a fire extinguisher which has a minimum rating of 2A-10BC.

(h) Be provided with a fire alarm system, as required by the International Fire Code, {2006}
2012 edition. If the portable building is designated for occupancy as a “Group B occupancy used
for educational purposes™ or as a “Group E occupancy,” the portable building must have an
automatic and a manual fire alarm system, which is integrated with the fire alarm system in the
primary building.

2. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, if two or more portable buildings are
placed next to each other, there must be no empty spaces between the buildings. If it is
physically impossible to place portable buildings next to each other so that there are no spaces
between the portable buildings, the space between the portable buildings must have a barrier to
prevent combustible materials or debris from entering that space.

3. Flammable or combustible material may not be stored beneath a portable building.

4. Portable buildings may not be joined if there are windows or other openings on the joined
wall other than doors that are designed and used as access between the buildings.

5. Portable buildings which abut or are grouped together must not exceed the total area
allowed by the International Building Code, {2006} 2012 edition, for occupancies which are

designated as “Type V-B.”
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Sec. 19. NAC 477.442 is hereby amended to read as follows:
477.442 1. An existing portable building which has only one door to the exterior must be
equipped with:
(a) A system for emergency lighting.
(b) An automatic fire sprinkler system as required by N.F.P.A. Standard 13, {2616} 2013
edition, if:
(1) The maximum legal occupancy of the building exceeds 50 persons; or
(2) More than two portable buildings are joined together to be used for classrooms or
assembly.
2. All other portable buildings must:
(a) Be in compliance with the codes for building, fire and life safety as adopted by this
chapter or by the authority having jurisdiction, whichever are more restrictive.
(b) Be equipped with a fire extinguisher which has a minimum rating of 2A-10BC.
(¢) Have an automatic and a manual fire alarm system if:
(1) The maximum legal occupancy of the joined portable buildings exceeds 50 persons; or
(2) Three or more portable buildings are joined together.
(d) Have all alarm signals installed and connected to a main alarm system as required by
N.F.P.A. Standard 72, 2046} 2013 edition.
(e) If smoke detectors are required, have those detectors interconnected with the fire alarm

system.
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(h) If the portable building is used as a classroom or for any other purpose relating to
education, have and maintain plans for fire drills and evacuation, which must be posted as
prescribed by NRS 392.450 or 394.170, as applicable.

3. No change in the use of a portable building described in subsection 2 may be made until
the proposed change is reviewed and approved by the authority having jurisdiction for
compliance with the adopted codes or this section.

4. A system for heating, ventilating or air-conditioning which:

(a) Isin a portable building described in subsection 2;

(b) Can circulate more than 2,000 cubic feet of air per minute; and

(¢) Shuts down automatically,
= must be serviced quarterly. Records of the service must be maintained for 2 years for review
by the authority having jurisdiction.

Sec. 20. NAC 477.455 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.455 1. No component or device of an automatic sprinkler system may be sold, leased
or installed in this State unless it has been approved, labeled or listed by Underwriters
Laboratories Inc., Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, FM Global or any other testing
laboratory approved by the State Fire Marshal as qualified to test such a component or device.

2. Automatic sprinkler systems must comply with the International Fire Code , 2012
edition, and the following standards of the N.F.P.A.:

(a) ““Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems,” Standard 13, {2646} 2013 edition.

(b) “*Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in One- and Two-Family Dwellings

and Manufactured Homes,” Standard 13D, {2646} 2013 edition.
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(c) “Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in Low-Rise Residential Occupancies

Hg —Steries--Height"} Standard 13R, {2646} 2013 edition.

(d) “Standard for the Installation of Standpipe |

5=} and Hose Systems,”

Standard 14, 2010 edition.

(e) “Standard for Water Spray Fixed Systems for Fire Protection,” Standard 15, {2607} 2012
edition.

(f) “Standard for the Installation of Foam-Water Sprinkler and Foam-Water Spray Systems,”
Standard 16, {2067} 2011 edition.

(g) “Standard for the Installation of Stationary Pumps for Fire Protection,” Standard 20,
{26461 2013 edition.

(h) “Standard for Water Tanks for Private Fire Protection,” Standard 22, 2008 edition.

(1) “Standard for the Installation of Private Fire Service Mains and Their Appurtenances,”
Standard 24, 2040} 2013 edition.

() “Standard for the Inspection, Testing, and Maintenance of Water-Based Fire Protection
Systems,” Standard 25, {2668} 2011 edition.

(k) “Standard Her} on Water Mist Fire Protection {System:—} Systems” Standard 750, 2010
edition.

Sec. 21. NAC 477.460 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.460 1. Each automatic fire sprinkler system must be inspected quarterly. One of the
quarterly inspections must be termed an annual inspection and be conducted in accordance with
the provisions of subsection 2. The other quarterly visual inspections may be conducted by any

responsible person, including an employee of a licensed firm, who, in the opinion of the
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authority having jurisdiction, has sufficient knowledge of the system to conduct such inspections.
The quarterly inspections must conform to the requirements of N.F.P.A. Standard 13, {2646}
2013 edition, and Standard 25, {2008} 2011 edition. Records of inspection must be kept on-site

for review by the State Fire Marshal and the authority having jurisdiction. {Any-deficieneies

(=] =

2. The annual inspection must be made by a qualified registrant who is an employee of a
licensed firm for automatic fire sprinkler systems. The annual inspection must comply with the
standards and publications described in subsection 1.

3. Ifa maintenance inspection indicates that additional work is required on a fire sprinkler
system in order to have the system conform to code requirements, the licensed firm {shatf must
notify the owner and the authority having jurisdiction in writing {immediately} not later than the
next business day after the day of the inspection. A tag must be properly signed, punched and
attached. The word “impairment” must be written across the bott2m of the tag.

4, Ifthe owner fails to correct the deficiency within 30 calendar days after receiving
notice of the deficiency, the licensed firm must notify the owner and the authority having
Jjurisdiction in writing not later than the next business day after the day the person conducting

the inspection determines that the deficiency was not corrected as required.
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5. Alicensed firm must give 30 calendar days’ written notice to the owner, the occupant and
the authority having jurisdiction before it may discontinue service to the owner or the occupant,
or both.

Sec. 22. NAC 477.465 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.465 1. The distributor, installer or agency to provide service to customers must submit
evidence of its capability to repair and restore an automatic sprinkler system within 24 hours
after notification of a fire or fault in the system and must repair a system within 24 hours after
being notified by the owner that a system requires service. The evidence of that capability is
subject to approval by the State Fire Marshal or the authority having jurisdiction. The evidence
must demonstrate that the licensee has:

(a) The necessary equipment and personnel appropriately certified by the State Fire Marshal;

(b) The necessary stock of parts and devices;

(c) A valid license issued by the State Contractors’ Board; Jand}

(d) If applicable, a valid state business license issued by the Secretary of State; and

(e) A certification and approval by the manufacturer from whom the equipment is purchased.

2. Where automatic sprinkler systems are installed for any reason, a satisfactory written
agreement for the maintenance of the system must be provided. All systems must be under the
supervision of qualified persons. No work may be performed on an automatic sprinkler system
unless a holder of a certificate of registration is present to supervise the work. Proper tests and
inspections must be made at prescribed intervals, and qualified persons must have general charge
of all alterations and additions to the systems under their supervision. A copy of the agreement

for maintenance, along with proof that the firm or company which will provide the maintenance
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is adequately covered by liability insurance, must be submitted by the firm or company to the
State Fire Marshal or the authority having jurisdiction.

3. Detailed plans, with the appropriate fees, must be submitted to the State Fire Marshal or
the authority having jurisdiction for approval. The specifications must state that the installation
will conform to the applicable standards and be approved by the State Fire Marshal or the
authority having jurisdiction before the sprinkler system is installed. The specifications must
include the specific tests required by the N.F.P.A.’s standards and the standards required for the
approval of the State Fire Marshal or the authority having jurisdiction. Plans must be drawn to an
indicated scale or be suitably dimensioned and must be made so that they can be easily
reproduced. Plans must contain sufficient detail to enable the State Fire Marshal or the authority
having jurisdiction to evaluate the effectiveness of the system. Plans must be submitted to the
State Fire Marshal or the authority having jurisdiction before work starts. Where field conditions
necessitate any substantial change from the approved plan, the corrected plan showing the
system as installed, with the appropriate fees, must be submitted to the State Fire Marshal or the
authority having jurisdiction for approval. The State Fire Marshal or the authority having
jurisdiction must inspect and approve any substantial changes before the job is completed. Plans
must be on the job site when work is being done pursuant to the plan at that site.

4. Calculations must be established from the applicable design curve for sprinkler systems
as shown in N.F.P.A. Standards 13 and 13R, {2048} 2013 editions. There must be not less than
10 psi additional water pressure above the system demand.

5. All hydrostatic tests of systems and flushing of underground systems must be witnessed

by a representative of the State Fire Marshal or the authority having jurisdiction. All portions of
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the automatic fire sprinkler system, including the underground service from the gate valve, road
box or check valve to the riser, must be installed, tested and flushed by a company licensed by
the State Fire Marshal to perform this work. A company which holds a current Type G-U license
for:

(a) Underground private fire {sprinilersystems} service mains and their appurtenances may
provide only the underground private fire service mains and their appurtenances from the gate
valve, road box or check valve to the base of the riser or stubbed 5 feet from the base of a
building. The company shall provide certification of the contractors’ materials and testing to the
State Fire Marshal or the authority having jurisdiction upon the completion of the work. The
underground services provided and the certification to be provided to the State Fire Marshal or
the authority having jurisdiction must meet the requirements of NAC 477.340 to 477.350,
inclusive, and the standards of the N.F.P.A. for automatic fire sprinkler systems {} or private fire
service mains and their appurtenances, as applicable.

(b) Fire hydrants may provide only the installation, maintenance, repair and servicing of fire
hydrants.

(c) Backflow may provide only the testing on backflow assemblies. The licensee must also
hold a certification from the American Water Works Association or another nationally
recognized certificate recognized by the State Fire Marshal.

6. Upon completing the installation of an automatic sprinkler system, the licensee shall issue
a letter of certification to the authority having jurisdiction. The letter must certify that the system
has been installed in accordance with the approved plans and all applicable national, state and

local codes. The installer shall properly identify all hydraulically designed automatic sprinkler
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systems with a permanently attached placard. The placard must show the location and number of
sprinkler heads and the density of discharge over the designed area.

Sec. 23. NAC 477.483 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.483 1. A firm must be licensed by the State Fire Marshal and the State Contractors’
Board to install a fire sprinkler system in any one- or two-family dwelling or mobile home.

2. The installation of a system may not begin until the plans for the job are approved by the
authority having jurisdiction. An approved set of plans must be on the job site and available for
inspection during all working hours.

3. A person holding a certificate of registration issued by the State Fire Marshal must be on
the job site and directly supervise the installation of the system.

4. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5, all workmanship must conform to the
requirements of this chapter and the edition of N.F .P.A {=} Standards 13D and 13R 2646
editions-} in effect at the time of installation.

5. Each component must be installed in accordance with the requirements set forth in
subsection 4 or the manufacturer’s recommendations as work progresses.

6. The firm that installs the system shall:

(a) Certify, in a letter to the authority having jurisdiction, that the work meets the
requirements of the edition of N.F.P.A. Standards 13D and 13R ;-2040-editienss} in effect at the
time of installation and the requirements of the State Fire Marshal. The letter must be sent
within 10 days after the completion of the job.

(b) Attach to the system a metal tag that includes the firm’s name and address and the date of

the installation.
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7. 1f a manufacturer’s process or listing is used for any portion of the installation, that
process or listing number must be noted on the submitted plans.

Sec. 24. NAC 477.540 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.540 1. The authority having jurisdiction may inspect a fire sprinkler system at any
time during its installation. The authority having jurisdiction may witness any tests of the system.
The licensed firm shall contact the authority having jurisdiction and schedule witnessing of any
required testing, including, without limitation, final acceptance tests. A person holding a
certificate of registration issued by the State Fire Marshal must be on the job site and directly

supervise the installation of the system.

2. The owner of any fire sprinkler system Hnstalled-inaceordanee-with-this-chapterand

&

-+ installed in a one- or two-family dwelling shall conduct
or cause to be conducted an annual test of the system. The firm that installed the system shall
provide the owner with written instructions on the method of testing it. These instructions must
include the location of the inspector’s test valve, which must drain to the exterior of the building,
the location of the water flow alarm mechanism and the location of the riser assembly. The
annual test of the system is the responsibility of the owner of the system.

Sec. 25. NAC 477.560 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.560 1In all medical facilities, custodial care facilities and restrained care facilities, a
device for detection of the products of combustion, other than by detecting heat, must be

installed pursuant to section

Ceodes;published-by-the} 18.3.4.5 of N.F.P.A. Standard 101, 2009 edition.
Sec. 26. NAC 477.562 is hereby amended to read as follows:
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477.562 1. The following requirements apply to child care facilities that require inspection
and a certificate of compliance to be issued by the authority having jurisdiction:

(a) Plans for the construction of new facilities or the remodeling of existing facilities must be
submitted to the authority having jurisdiction for approval before the construction or remodeling
begins.

(b) Each facility must be inspected for compliance with applicable fire and safety regulations
by the authority having jurisdiction before a license to operate the facility is issued. The facility
must be inspected annually thereafter and have a current certificate of compliance issued by the
authority having jurisdiction.

(c) Smoke detectors approved by the State Fire Marshal must be installed pursuant to the
manufacturer’s instructions. In newly constructed buildings, smoke detectors must receive their
primary power from the building’s wiring, with provision made for the detection of smoke
during a power failure. If a smoke detector powered by a battery is currently installed and it fails,
the smoke detector must be replaced by a smoke detector which receives its primary power from
the wiring of the building and has a battery as a backup source of power.

(d) The State Fire Marshal will calculate the maximum number of occupants permitted in:

(1) A child care center based on an occupancy classification of [-4 or E.

(2) A child care facility based on an occupancy classification of I-4 for children less than 2
1/2 years of age and R-4 for children 2 1/2 years of age or older.

(3) A child care institution based on an occupancy classification of I-4 or E.

(4) A family home based on an occupancy classification of R-3.
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(5) A group home based on an occupancy classification of 1-4 for children less than 2 1/2
years of age and R-4 for children 2 1/2 years of age or older.

(e) Smoking is prohibited in any area designated as an “E” occupancy area unless the area
has specifically been designated as a smoking area by the authority having jurisdiction. Where
smoking is allowed, ashtrays must be provided.

(f) All stairs must be free of obstacles and stored combustible materials. Handrails with turn-
ins must be provided if there are two or more steps in any stairway.

(g) Bathroom and closet doors must open from the inside without the need for a key or any
special knowledge or effort and must be able to be immediately opened from the outside with the
use of an appropriate device hung or placed above or near the door.

(h) Basements in R-3 occupancies used for child care must have at least two unobstructed
exits which lead directly to the outside, one of which must open directly at ground level.

(i) Portable fire extinguishers must have a minimum rating of 2A-10BC and must be mounted
pursuant to the requirements of N.F.P.A. Standard 10, 2010 edition, or the authority having
jurisdiction.

(j) Heaters, fireplaces or other similar devices in rooms used for child care must be protected
from contact with children by a sturdy, noncombustible partition, wire screen or protective metal
guard. No portable heating devices are allowed.

(k) All heating equipment and hot water heaters must be enclosed in a manner which
prevents children from coming into contact with them.

() Child-resistant covers must be installed on all electrical outlets accessible to children.
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(m) Wastebaskets, garbage cans and other containers used to store garbage, waste, rubbish
and other combustible materials must be constructed of noncombustible materials and have a
tight-fitting lid of the same material. Wastebaskets or other trash containers placed in the
designated smoking areas must be constructed of noncombustible materials with a tight-fitting
lid of the same material.

(n) No more than 10 gallons of flammable liquid may be stored in any area designated as an
“E” area. This flammable liquid must be stored in an approved metal container and out of the
reach of children.

(0) Rooms in which equipment is used or where flammable liquids, combustible dust or
similar hazardous materials are handled must be separated from other portions of the building by
a material which has a rating of at least 1-hour fire barrier and must conform to the requirements
of the International Building Code, 2606} 2012 edition.

2. Asused in this section:

(a) “Child care center” has the meaning ascribed to it in NAC 432A.050.

(b) “Child care facility™ has the meaning ascribed to it in NAC 432A.060.

(c) “Child care institution™ has the meaning ascribed to it in NAC 432A.070.

(d) “Family home™ has the meaning ascribed to it in NAC 432A.100.

(e) “Group home™ has the meaning ascribed to it in NAC 432A.110.

Sec. 27. NAC 477.566 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.566 Devices for the detection of the products of combustion, other than heat, must be

installed in every building which is used for the care of children. The devices must be installed in
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accordance with section 907.2.10 of the International Building Code, {2006} 2012 edition, and
N.F.P.A. Standard 72, {2048} 2013 edition, if so required by the authority having jurisdiction.

Sec. 28. NAC 477.568 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.568 Child care facilities which are used for child care between the hours of 12 a.m. and
6 a.m. and care for seven or more children must have }a} an automatic sprinkler system installed
which conforms to N.F.P.A. Standard 13, 13D or 13R, {2046} 2013 editions, as applicable, and
the requirements of the International Building Code, {2606} 2012 edition. The automatic
sprinkler system must be {tied-inte} connected to the fire alarm system so that activation of any
portion of the automatic sprinkler system will activate the fire alarm system.

Sec. 29. NAC 477.622 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.622 1. Before a person may act as an assistant pyrotechnic operator, the person must
obtain a certificate of registration as an assistant pyrotechnic operator from the State Fire
Marshal. To receive a certificate of registration as an assistant pyrotechnic operator, an applicant
must:

(a) Be a natural person who is at least 21 years of age;

(b) Make fa-written-notarized} an application for such a certificate of registration to the State
Fire Marshal on a form provided by the State Fire Marshal;

(c) Pass a written test based on the content of this chapter and N.F.P.A. Standard 1124,
2013 edition, and N.F.P.A. Standard 1126, {2006-editionsand-the regulations-ofthe State Fire
Marshald 2011 edition;

(d) Submit to the State Fire Marshal:
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(1) Letters of endorsement from fthree} fwo persons who hold certificates of registration as
a pyrotechnic operator issued by the State Fire Marshal; and

(2) A letter from the company which employs the applicant stating that the applicant has
worked for the company for at least 90 days or is licensed or certified as an assistant pyrotechnic
operator in good standing by another state recognized by the State Fire Marshal; and

(e) Pay an initial fee of $27.50.

2. A person who holds a certificate of registration as an assistant pyrotechnic operator may
load, build and pack any product used in pyrotechnic effects only under the direct supervision of
a holder of a certificate of registration as a pyrotechnic operator.

3. A certificate of registration is valid on May | or the date on which it is issued, whichever
is later. If the holder of a certificate of registration does not submit the renewal application and
pay the renewal fee on or before April 30 of the following year, the certificate of registration
expires and the person must apply to the State Fire Marshal for an original certificate of
registration.

Sec. 30. NAC 477.628 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.628 1. Before a person may act as a pyrotechnic operator or an assistant to a
pyrotechnic operator on a show specific, the person must obtain a certificate of registration for
show specific from the State Fire Marshal. To receive a certificate of registration for show
specific, an applicant must:

(a) Be a natural person who is at least 21 years of age;

(b) Make fa~wsittennotarized} an application for such a certificate of registration to the State

Fire Marshal on a form provided by the State Fire Marshal and pay the applicable fee:
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(c) Meet the minimum requirements for receiving a certificate of registration as an assistant
pyrotechnic operator;

(d) Submit to the State Fire Marshal a log that demonstrates that the applicant has worked on
at least 50 performances of the show;

(e) Have evidence that he or she has been employed with the show for at least 90 days; and

(f) Have faletter} letters of endorsement from:

(1) A holder of a certificate of registration as a pyrotechnic operator ; fereertificate-of

(2) A representative of the license holder for the show, including, without limitation, a
representative of the hotel or property at which the show is performed or the producer of the
show.

2. A certificate of registration is valid on May 1 or the date on which it is issued, whichever
is later. If the holder of a certificate of registration does not submit the renewal application and
pay the renewal fee on or before April 30 of the following year, the certificate of registration
expires and the person must apply to the State Fire Marshal for an original certificate of
registration.

Sec. 31. NAC 477.630 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.630 1. Before a person may act as a fire performer {} or an apprentice fire
performer, the person must obtain a certificate of registration as a fire performer or an
apprentice fire performer, as applicable, from the State Fire Marshal +} in accordance with
NRS 477.223.

2. An applicant for a certificate of registration as a fire performer must:
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(a) {Be-anatoral-person:

—Fy} Satisfy the applicable requirements of NRS 477.223;

(b) Include in the resume described in paragraph (c) of subsection 2 of NRS 477.223, a
description of the location where the applicant obtained his or her experience as a fire
performer; and

(c) Pay an application fee of $27.50.

3.  An applicant for a certificate of registration as an apprentice fire performer must:

(a) Satisfy the applicable requirements of NRS 477.223;

(b) Include in the resume described in paragraph (c) of subsection 2 of NRS 477.223, a
description of the location where the applicant obtained his or her experience as an apprentice
fire performer;

(c) Submit to the State Fire Marshal:

(1) Proof'that the applicant has completed a basic fire performer safety course approved
by the State Fire Marshal; and
(2) A notarized letter, signed by a fire performer who is the holder of a certificate of

registration as a fire performer issued pursuant to NRS 477.223, which attests that the
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applicant has completed at least 40 hours of training in fire performance not including the
approved basic fire performer safety course; and

(d) Pay an application fee of $27.50.

4. A certificate of registration is valid on May 1 or the date on which it is issued, whichever
is later. If the holder of a certificate of registration does not submit the renewal application and
pay the renewal fee on or before April 30 of the following year, the certificate of registration
expires and the person must apply to the State Fire Marshal for an original certificate of

registration.

Sec. 32. NAC 477.631 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.631 1. Before a person may act as a flame effects assistant to provide flame effects
before an audience, the person must obtain a certificate of registration as a flame effects assistant
from the State Fire Marshal.

2. Anapplicant for a certificate of registration as a flame effects assistant must:

(a) Be a natural person who is at least 21 years of age:

(b) Make fa—written-netarized} an application on the form provided, including the application
fee of $27.50;

(¢) Indicate on the application which category of certificate the applicant wishes to obtain,

such as natural gas, propane or solids, and include the appropriate fee for that category;
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(d) Successfully pass, with a score of at least 75 percent, a preliminary written examination
which includes questions concerning basic safety from N.F.P.A. 160, {2666} 2011 edition, and
this chapter;

(e) Include with the application letters of endorsement from two persons who hold a
certificate of registration as a flame effects operator issued by the State Fire Marshal; and

(f) Include with the application a letter from the company which employs the applicant
stating that the applicant has worked for the company for at least 90 days or is licensed or
certified as a flame effects assistant in good standing by another state recognized by the State
Fire Marshal.

3. A certificate of registration is valid on May | or the date on which it is issued, whichever
is later. If the holder of a certificate of registration does not submit the renewal application and
pay the renewal fee on or before April 30 of the following year, the certificate of registration
expires and the person must apply to the State Fire Marshal for an original certificate of
registration.

Sec. 33. NAC 477.661 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.661 1. No person may:

(a) Use or discharge:

(1) A special effect or firework unless the person is a pyrotechnic operator certified by the
State Fire Marshal.

(2) A firework of any class or type within 100 feet of stored gasoline or other flammable
liquid which is listed as Class I in N.F.P.A. Standard 30, {2608} 2012 edition, or any other

combustible material.
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(b) Display or discharge a firework at a commercial display of fireworks in such a manner as
to endanger any person.

(c) Discharge fireworks of any class in a county where the discharge of the fireworks is
prohibited.

2. If the authority having jurisdiction believes that fireworks which create an imminent
danger to life or property will be discharged in violation of this subsection, the authority having
jurisdiction may seize the fireworks without notice.

3. The authority having jurisdiction will take and retain possession of fireworks seized in
accordance with this section during any judicial or administrative proceedings involving the
fireworks and will, upon conclusion of the proceedings, de;troy them or return them to the
person from whom they were seized as directed in such proceedings.

4. Any person whose fireworks are adjudged in any judicial or administrative proceeding to
be hazardous will be charged with the expenses incurred in the seizure, transportation, storage
and disposal of those fireworks. This charge constitutes a debt and is collectible by any agency
of the State or any of its political subdivisions incurring any such expense in the same manner as
if it is an obligation under an express or implied contract.

Sec. 34. NAC 477.663 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.663 1. No person may maintain or permit the existence of a fire hazard at any location
under the person’s control where fireworks or pyrotechnic compositions are displayed,

discharged or stored.
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2. A permit issued by the State FFire Marshal is required for the storage of fireworks
classified as Division 1.3G, Division 1.4G or Division H-145} 1.45 by 18 U.S.C. §§ 841 et seq.
and N.F.P.A. Standard 1124, {2006} 2013 edition, except for:

(a) Fireworks classified as consumer fireworks that are stored at a retail outlet for sale as
approved by the State Fire Marshal or pursuant to a permit issued by the State Fire Marshal after
an inspection of the site is made;

(b) Fireworks for public display or special effects stored at the site of firing for immediate
use; and

(c) Storage of material for special effects which weighs less than 10 pounds.

3. Fees for permits for storage are as follows:

(a) A building for permanent or temporary StOrage ........coovvvriiiiiiiiiiiiieineiiie e $220
(b) Type | MAZAZING. ciausiimsmsnsmmsss s SRS e VS s e 220
() TR 2, 300t IVMEATIIR xaussuwssnsss by s 5505 uuuaercss SN b s usas s 110

4. Fireworks must be stored in compliance with the requirements of the International
Building Code, 12666} 2012 edition, and N.F.P.A. Standard 1124, {2006} 2013 edition. Material
for special effects which weighs less than 750 pounds may be stored in a single-story structure
which is fully equipped with fire sprinklers and which otherwise conforms to the requirements
for a Type V-A rated building as described in the I/nternational Building Code, {2006} 2012
edition. Material for special effects which weighs 750 pounds or more must be stored in a

magazine approved for that purpose.
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5. The State Fire Marshal will, as he or she determines necessary, inspect each site used for
storage of fireworks to determine if the fireworks are stored properly according to their class or
type.

Sec. 35. NAC 477.710 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.710 1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, no person may use explosives in
blasting operations for commercial construction unless he or she has a certificate of registration
for blasting issued by the State Fire Marshal or is under the direct supervision of a person
holding such a certificate. An applicant for a certificate of registration for blasting must:

(a) Meet the criteria outlined in section {33044} 5601.4 of the International Fire Code,
{2006} 2012 edition;

(b) Pass a background check;

(c) Pass a written examination, with a score of at least 75 percent, as determined by the State
Fire Marshal;

(d) Pay the applicable fee at the time the applicant submits his or her fwitten-notarized}
application;

(e) Submit the following information with the jwitten-netarized} application:

() A

2 e : =
——33 letter from his or her employer which:

(I) States that the applicant is employed by the employer;

(II) States that the applicant has knowledge of blasting and the safety requirements
relating to blasting; and
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(III) Requests that the State Fire Marshal issue a certificate of registration for
blasting to the applicant;
(2) A current resume;
K4} (3) A copy of each license that is issued by another state and approved by the State
Fire Marshal; and
53 (4) Any other information required by the State Fire Marshal; and

(f) Possess a letter of clearance as a responsible person or possessor of explosives from the
United States Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.

2. The certificate of registration for blasting must be in the possession of the registrant while
he or she is performing blasting operations. A registrant must pay the same fee as for an address
change for a duplicate of a certificate that has been lost or destroyed.

3. This section does not apply to the use of pyrotechnics governed by other provisions of
this chapter or the use of explosives:

(a) By a person engaged in agriculture or ranching for occasional use on his or her property;

(b) By an employee of the State, a local government or the Federal Government who uses
explosives for construction in the proper performance of his or her duties: or

(¢) In flammable or combustible liquid, in fertilizer and in tools or other devices which are

actuated by a propellant.

4. A certificate of registration for blasting fissued-beforeJanuary1-2042must-be-renewed

be renewed annually. An applicant for renewal must pay a fee of $55 before the certificate of
registration for blasting may be renewed.
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Sec. 36. NAC 477.770 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477770 1. A license must be obtained from the State Fire Marshal to service and clean
Type | exhaust system grease ducts. A Type | exhaust system grease duct has the meaning
ascribed to it in the National Fire Codes.

2. To obtain a license to service and clean a Type | exhaust system grease duct, an applicant
must:

(a) Submit fa~writtennotarized} an application;

(b) Provide a sample tag or stick-on label to be approved by the State Fire Marshal Division
pursuant to NAC 477.790; and

(c) Pay fany} the applicable fee.

3. To obtain a certificate of registration to service and clean a Type | exhaust system grease
duct an applicant must:

(a) Pass an examination administered by the State Fire Marshal, with a score of at least 75
percent;

(b) Submit fa—writtennotarized} an application;

(c) Pay {any} the applicable fee;

(d) Submit a letter from the company which employs the applicant stating that the applicant
works for the company and has knowledge of cleaning a hood and duct system; and

(e) Establish that the applicant has read and understands N.F.P.A. Standard 96, {2008} 2011
edition, section 11.4, and the applicable provisions of this chapter, and is properly equipped to

service and clean Type | exhaust system grease ducts.
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4. A licensed firm that has obtained a license from the State Fire Marshal to service and
clean Type 1 exhaust system grease ducts must also be licensed to do business in the city or
county in which it is providing this service.

5. Employees of the licensed firm who are not certified may be allowed to assist in the
servicing and cleaning of Type 1 exhaust systems if a person certified by the State Fire Marshal
is on the premises and directly supervises such work at all times and the certificate of inspection
and maintenance is filled out by that certified person who will accept responsibility for the work.

Sec. 37. NAC 477.780 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.780 1. A copy of the cleaning contract and cleaning reports for a Type 1 exhaust
system must be maintained at the site where the exhaust system is located and made available to
the authority having jurisdiction upon request.

2. After inspecting or cleaning a Type 1 exhaust system, a copy of a report describing any
deficiencies found in the system or a notice that service was refused or was extended beyond the
limitations of the contract must be sent to the authority having jurisdiction by the close of
business the next business day. A report describing any deficiencies must specify all deficiencies
that were not corrected during the servicing of the system, including, but not limited to:

(a) Excessive grease;

(b) Inaccessible areas;

(c) Access panels which do not comply with code specifications;

(d) Fans that are not commercial or cleanable; and

(e) Missing filters.

= The report must be signed by a person representing the owner of the system.

--67--
LCB Draft of Revised Proposed Regulation R123-13



3.  When grease or other residues are present within the hood, ducts or devices for the
removal of grease, the system must be cleaned in accordance with N.F.P.A. Standard 96, {2608}
2011 edition, section 11.4.

4. [If a cleaning contract expires or if a company chooses not to extend a cleaning contract,
the licensee must provide written notice to the authority having jurisdiction not later than the
close of business the next business day after the contract expires or is not extended.

Sec. 38. NAC 477.810 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477.810 1. Fire standpipe systems must be inspected annually by a person certified by the
State Fire Marshal for fire standpipe systems who works for a firm licensed by the State Fire
Marshal to service fire standpipe systems. The annual inspection must conform to the

requirements of N.F.P.A. 25, |2

Maintenanece-Manual} 2011 edition.

2. A copy of the annual inspection report must be maintained on-site and sent to the owner.

wspeetiond} If an inspection indicates that additional work is required on a fire standpipe

system in order to have the system conform to code requirements, the licensed firm must notify
the owner and the authority having jurisdiction in writing not later than the next business day
after the day of the inspection. If the owner fails to correct the deficiency within 30 calendar
days after receiving notice of the deficiency, the licensed firm must notify the owner and the
authority having jurisdiction in writing not later than the next business day after the day the

person conducting the inspection determines that the deficiency was not corrected as required.
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3. Before hydrostatic tests may be conducted on a fire standpipe system, the installer of the
fire standpipe system must notify the authority having jurisdiction in such a manner as to provide
the authority having jurisdiction with sufficient time to schedule an appointment so that the
authority having jurisdiction can be present when the hydrostatic tests are conducted on the fire
standpipe system. Tests must be certified by the licensee as meeting code requirements and a
copy of that certification must be maintained on-site. A copy of a report describing any
deficiencies in the systems found during the testing must be sent to the authority having
jurisdiction.

4. The installer of a fire standpipe system shall place a metal tag on the control valve for the
system which states the name of the installing company and the date of the installation.

5. Any work done on the system must be done under the supervision of a person who has a
certificate of registration for that work. At the conclusion of the service, test, inspection or
installation, the person holding a certificate of registration shall sign and place an approved tag
on the system control riser. The tag must be punched in an approved manner to indicate the type
of service performed on the system and the date it was performed.

Sec. 39. NAC 477.910 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477910 1. Every new building constructed by or for the State of Nevada must meet or
exceed the minimum requirements of this chapter and the codes adopted by the State Fire
Marshal.

2. {Every} Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, a new building owned by the
State fthatis-intendedforoeeupaney} must be equipped with an automatic fire suppression
system {1 if the building is:
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(a) More than 5,000 square feet in size;
(b) Used for sleeping purposes; or
(c) Otherwise required to be equipped with an automatic fire suppression system pursuant

fo the International Fire Code, 2012 edition.

= Rooms in such a new building which are to be used for sleeping purposes must be equipped
with smoke detectors. The smoke detectors must receive their primary power from the building’s
wiring, with provision made for the detection of smoke during a power failure.

3. The provisions of subsection 2 do not apply to:

(a) A noncombustible open parking garage as defined in the building and fire codes and
standards adopted by reference in NAC 477.281;

(b) A detached noncombustible shade structure; or

(c) Any structure upon which solar power panels are placed if the structure is erected over
a parking lot.

4. A person who removes or disables any smoke detector required by this section is subject
to prosecution for a misdemeanor in accordance with NRS 477.250.

Sec. 40. NAC 477.912 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477912 1. For the purposes of NRS 477.035, the State Fire Marshal will:

(a) Classify a state-owned or state-occupied building as a Class I building if the building
meets one or more of the following criteria:

(1) The building is used for sleeping purposes. Such buildings include, without

limitation, a prison, conservation camp, residence for a park ranger, dormitories for students

of a college or university, and the Governor’s Mansion.
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(2) The building is critical to the continuous operation of the State. Such buildings
include, without limitation, the Capitol Building in Carson City, the Legislative Building in
Carson City, the Supreme Court Building in Carson City, the Grant Sawyer Building in Las
Vegas, and the group of buildings in Las Vegas and Carson City which provide central
locations for the state agencies that are responsible for emergency operations.

(3) The building is of high value to the infrastructure of the State. Such buildings
include, without limitation, the headquarters of the Department of Motor Vehicles, the
headquarters of the Department of Transportation, and any building used by the Division of
Enterprise Information Technology Services of the Department of Administration for
processing data.

(4) The building is used for the storage, handling or processing of large quantities of
hazardous materials. Such buildings include, without limitation, the University of Nevada
School of Medicine, the buildings used by the Department of Transportation to produce signs,
and any building which qualifies as occupancy classification of H as set forth in the building
and fire codes and standards adopted by reference in NAC 477.281.

(5) The building is of significant historical value to the State. Such buildings include,
without limitation, the former United States Mint Building in Carson City.

(b) Classify a state-owned or state-occupied building as a Class Il building if the building
meets one or more of the following criteria:

(1) The building is a state office building that is open to the general public and does not

meet the criteria for a Class I or Class III building.
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(2) The building is used by the Department of Transportation for maintenance and does
not meet the criteria for a Class I or Class III building.

(3) The building is a structure of a college or university and does not meet the criteria
for a Class I or Class III building.

(¢) Classify a state-owned or state-occupied building as a Class III building if the building
meels one or more of the following criteria:

(1) The building is not open to the general public for any reason, including, without
limitation, because the building is closed or has been vacated for disposal, demolition or
rehabilitation, and does not meet the criteria for a Class I building.

(2) The building is located in a remote area, poses a low level of hazards to fire and life
safety and does not meet the criteria for a Class I building.
= Such buildings include, without limitation, isolated buildings used by the Department of
Transportation for the storage of salt or sand and any building used by the Division of State
Parks of the State Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, other than any
building which meets the criteria for a Class I building.

(d) Inspect or cause the inspection of each Class I building once each fiscal year.

(e) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, inspect or cause the inspection of each
Class II building once every 2 fiscal years.

() Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, inspect or cause the inspection of each

Class III building once every 4 fiscal years.
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2. The State Fire Marshal may inspect a state-owned or state-occupied building more
often than the schedule set forth in subsection 1 if the State Fire Marshal determines that it is
in the best interest of the State to do so.

3. A local authority having jurisdiction that inspects a state-owned or state-occupied
building fewned-by-the-State-of Nevada} shall submit a copy of the inspection report to the State
Fire Marshal Division within 10 working days after the inspection.

Sec. 41. NAC 477.915 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477915 1. Every existing state-owned building fewned-by-the State-of Nevadal must:

(a) Comply with the provisions of NRS 477.100 to 477.170, inclusive;

(b) Meet the requirements of the building code in effect when the building was constructed;

(¢) If the building:

(1) Hdestopatedasa-Boceupancy:
——23} Regardless of occupancy designation, has a floor area which exceeds 12,000 square
feet on any floor or 24,000 square feet on all floors, including any mezzanines: or

=3 (2) s designated as an fR—-R-2-e+R— R occupancy,
= be scheduled for installation of an automatic fire suppression system during the next
remodeling of or addition to the building {} unless the existing building is included in a
designated group of buildings, a compound or a campus which has a long-term fire protection
improvement plan that has been approved by the State Fire Marshal for the installation of
automatic fire suppression systems over an agreed period of time;

(d) Meet the requirements for fire flows contained in this chapter and the International Fire

Code, 2606} 2012 edition; and
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(e) Be equipped with noncombustible containers for the disposal of smoking materials in
designated smoking areas.

2. Every fire in a state-owned or state-occupied building or area of such a building fevwned
by-the-State} must be reported immediately to the local fire department, which shall notify the
State Fire Marshal of the fire as soon as practicable. A written report of the incident must be filed
with the State Fire Marshal Division within 24 hours after the fire. The report must be filed by
the state agency affected with the State Fire Marshal, 107 Jacobsen Way, Carson City, Nevada
89711.

Gi |

3. Upon the failure of a smoke detector which is powered by a battery and installed in a
state-owned or state-occupied building , fewned-er-oceupied-by-the-State;} the smoke detector
must be replaced by a smoke detector which is connected to the wiring of the building and has a
battery as a backup source of power.

4. A person who knowingly violates the provisions of this section is subject to prosecution
for a misdemeanor in accordance with NRS 477.250.

Sec. 42. NAC 477.917 is hereby amended to read as follows:

477917 1. Chapter 34 of the International Building Code, 12006} 2012 edition, will be
used to determine whether an alteration, repair, addition or change of occupancy of an existing
building or structure must comply with the requirements for a new building or structure.

2. Structures existing before November 1, 1994, must comply with the requirements set
forth in section 34+0-2} 3412.2 of the International Building Code, {2696} 2012 edition.

Sec. 43. NAC 477.920 is hereby amended to read as follows:
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477.920 1. Unless otherwise required by state statute or regulation or local ordinance, a
new commercial building that has more than 5,000 square feet of floor space must be equipped
with an automatic fire suppression system if:

(a) The community or area where the building is located is not served by a water system or
utility fand} or cannot produce the required fire flow;

(b) The community or area is not served by an organized fire department that is capable of
responding to the report of an alarm at the building within 10 minutes; or

(c) The building is not served by fan-atl-weather} a fire apparatus access road.

2. Anincrease in floor space area that is allowed by section 503 of the {2003-edition-of-the}
International Building Code , 2012 edition, must be approved by the authority having
jurisdiction when a system is installed in compliance with this section.

3. Asused in this section:

(a) “Fire apparatus access road” has the meaning ascribed to it in section 503.2.3 of the

International Fire Code, 2012 edition.

(b) “Organized fire department”™ means a fire department that is capable of producing a fire

flow of not less than 500 gallons per minute for 30 minutes using pumper tanker operations.
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