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Setting NV Volunteer “deemed” wage to 75% of NV state max wage

Currently, NV volunteer firefighters that are subject to an industrial accident or occupational
exposure on the job under either the Nevada Industrial Insurance Act (“NIIA”) and Nevada Occupational
Disease Act (“NODA”) have a deemed wage set at $2,000 per month for the purposes of calculating
compensation benefits under NIIA and NODA. See NRS 616A.145, Exhibit p. 1.

The $2000 per month deemed wage has been in NV statute since 1991. See Exhibit p. 1. In April
of 1991 when the last change was updated to a $2000 deemed wage, the state max wage under NRS
616A.065 (previously NRS 616.027) was $2,624.82. See Exhibit p. 3. At the time, the $2000 deemed
wage represented seventy-six percent (76%) of the (then) maximum wage calculation.

By the time of the 2019 legislature convenes, nearly three decades will have passed (28 years
precisely) since the deemed wage of volunteer firefighters has been updated. This is both unfair and
unjust to the volunteer firefighters of this state who are subject to industrial injuries and occupational
exposures while engaging in their firefighting duties.

The proposed bill seeks to change this injustice and to set the volunteer firefighter wage to keep
pace with inflation and set the deemed wage to a similar figure as was done during the last amendment
in 1991; specifically, the proposed bill will tie the deemed wage of a volunteer firefighter to 75% of the
NV state max wage as set forth by NRS 616A.065(1)(b).

The proposed langue seeks to amend NRS 616A.145 to read as follows:

NRS 616A.145 “Employee”: Volunteer firefighters. Volunteer firefighters
belonging to a regular organized and recognized fire department, while engaged in
their duties in any voluntary community service which they may undertake, and
while acting under the direction of the fire chief or any of the assistants of the fire
chief in the protection of life or property, during fire, flood, earthquake,
windstorm, ambulance service or other rescue work, shall be deemed, for the
purpose of chapters 616A to 616D, inclusive, of NRS, employees of the city, town,
county or district so recognizing them, at the wage of, per month, [$2,000] equal
fo seventy-five percent (75%) of the amount calculated by NRS 616A4.065(1)(b)
and date the wage is calculated must be determined pursuant to NRS 616C.425
[per month], and are entitled to the benefits of those chapters upon such city,
town, county or district’s complying therewith.

This bill is effective for all claims filed on or after July 1, 2019.
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Current law as 2019 Legislative Session

NRS 616A.145 “Employee”: Volunteer firefighters. Volunteer firefighters belonging to a regular organized
and recognized fire department, while engaged in their duties in any voluntary community service which they may
undertake, and while acting under the direction of the fire chief or any of the assistants of the fire chief in the protection
of life or property, during fire, flood, earthquake, windstorm, ambulance service or other rescue work, shall be deemed,
for the purpose of chapters 616A to 616D, inclusive, of NRS, employees of the city, town, county or district so
recognizing them, at the wage of $2,000 per month, and are entitled to the benefits of those chapters upon such city,
town, county or district’s complying therewith.

[Part 17:168:1947; A 1951, 485; 1953, 163] — (NRS A 1963, 745; 1965. 336; 1973. 497; 1983. 808; 1991.
168; 2005. 341)

NRS 616A.065 “Average monthly wage” defined.
1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 3, “average monthly wage” means the lesser of:
(a) The monthly wage actually received or deemed to have been received by the employee on the date of the
accident or injury to the employee, excluding remuneration from employment:
(1) Not subject to the Nevada Industrial Insurance Act or the Nevada Occupational Diseases Act; and
(2) For which coverage is elective, but has not been elected; or
(b) One hundred fifty percent of the state average weekly wage as most recently computed by the Employment
Security Division of the Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation during the fiscal year preceding the
date of the injury or accident, multiplied by 4.33.

1991 Amendment to Volunteer Firefighter Deemed Wage

CHAPTER 98

AN ACT relating to industrial insurance; increasing the deemed wage for certain volunteer firefighters for the purpose of industrial insurance;
and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

[Approved April 18, 1991]

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, REPRESENTED IN SENATE
AND ASSEMBLY, DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

Section 1. NRS 616.070 is hereby amended to read as follows:

616.070 Volunteer firemen belonging to a regular organized and recognized fire department, while engaged in
their duties in any voluntary community service which they may undertake, and while acting under the direction of
the fire chief or any of his assistants in the protection of life or property,

¥1991 Statutes of Nevada, Page 169 (Chapter 98, SB 231) ¥
during fire, flood, earthquake, windstorm, ambulance service or other rescue work, shall be deemed, for the purpose
of this chapter, employees of the city, town, county or district so recognizing them, at the wage of [5900] $2,000 per

month, and are entitled to the benefits of this chapter upon such city, town, county or district’s complying therewith.
Sec. 2. This act becomes effective on July 1, 1991.
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DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SECTION
1301 N. Green Valley Parkway, Suite 200
Henderson, Nevada 89074
MEMORANDUM
TO: Private Carriers

N——

Self-Insured Employers TN
Assoclatlons of Self-Insured Employers ﬂ S
Third-Party Admmlstrators N\ 3

FROM: dJoseph “JD” Decker, Administrator
DATE:  June 30, 2017 , e

SUBJECT: Average Monthly Wage, Fiscal Year 2018

Below is the computation of the state's Fiscal Year 2018 maximum Average
Monthly Wage for workers’ compensation purposes, effective July 1, 2017.

Should you have any questions, please contact the Workers’ Compensation Section
at the following:

Carson City Henderson
400 West King Street 1301 North Green Valley Parkway
Suite 400 Suite 200
Carson City, Nevada 89708 Henderson, Nevada 83074
(776) 684-7270 (702) 486-9080
Enclosure
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ISCAL YEAR
1975 (7/1/74-6/30/75)
1976 (7/1/75-6/30/76)
1977 (7/1/76-6/30/77)
1978 {7/1/77-6/30/78)
1979 {7/1/78-6/30/79)
1980 (7/1/79-6/30/80)
1981 {7/1/80-6/30/81)
1982 {7/1/81-6/30/82)
1983 (7/1/82-6/30/83)
1984 {7/1/83-6/30/84)
1985 {7/1/84-6/30/85)
1986 {7/1/85-6/30/86)
1987 {7/1/86-6/30/87)
1988 {7/1/87-6/30/88)
1989 (7/1/88-6/30/89)
1990 (7/1/89-6/30/90)
1991 (7/1/90-6/30/91)
1992 (7/1/91-6/30/92)
1993 (7/1/92-6/30/93)
1994 (7/1/93-6/30/94)
1995 (7/1/94-6/30/95)
1996 (7/1/95-6/30/96)
1997 (7/1/96-6/30/97)
1998 (7/1/97-6/30/98)
1999 (7/1/98-6/30/99)
2000 (7/1/99-6/30/00)
2001 (7/1/00-6/30/01)
2002 (7/1/01-6/30/02)
2003 (7/1/02-6/30/03)
2004 (7/1/03-6/30/04)
2005 (7/1/04-6/30/05)
2006 (7/1/05-6/30/06)
2007 (7/1/06-6/30/07)
2008 (7/1/07-6/30/08)
2009 (7/1/08-6/30/09)
2010 (7/1/09-6/30/10)
2011 (7/1/10-6/30/11)
2012 (7/1/11-6/30/12)
2013 (7/1/12-6/30/18)
2014 (7/1/13-6/30/14)
2015 (7/1/14-6/30/15)
2016 (7/1/15-6/30/186)
2017 (7/1/16-6/30/17)
2018 (7/1/17-6/30/18)

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY
Division of Industrial Relations
Workers’ Compensation Section

State of Nevada
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FISCAL YEAR MAXIMUM COMPENSATION CHART

MAX WAGE ALLOWED 66-2/3%

$ 727.48 $ 485.01
$1,142.21 $ 761.47
$1,211.00 $ 807.33
$1,287.44 $ 858.29
$1,377.08 $918.05
$1,488.46 $ 992,31
$1,691.86 $1,061.24
$1,754.95 $1,169.97
$1,930.38 $1,286.92
$2,040.60 $1,360.40
$2,117.31 $1,411.54
$2,159.33 $1,439.55
$2,230.45 . v .+ - $1,486.97
$2,302.22 $1,634.82
$2,395.49 $1,596.99
$2,525.78 $1,688.85
$2,624.82 $1,760.00
$2,747.65 $1,891.88
$2,820.19 $1,880.13
$2,996.08 $1,997.39
$3,058.43 $2,038.95
$3,089.93 $2,059.95
$3,211.00 $2,140.67
$3,354.84 $2,236.23
$3,474.43 $2,316.29
$3,667.27 $2,444.85
$3,788.07 $2,525.38
$3,915.25 $2,610.16
$4,022.68 $2,681.78
$4,129.39 $2,762.92
$4,284.04 $2,856.02
$4,505.97 $3,003.98
$4,708.68 $3,139.12
$4,862.68 $3,241.78
$5,116.24 $3,410.82
$5,208.60 $3,472.40
$5,179.05 $3,452.70
$5,151.57 $3,434.38
$5,222.63 $3,481.76
$5,290.70 $3,627.13
$6,356.23 $3,570.82
$6,426.25 $3,617.50
$5,645.56 $3,697.04
$6,703.26 $3,802.17
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BI- KLY DAILY
$223.16 $15.94
$ 360.42 $ 25.03
$371.28 $ 26.52
$ 394.80 §28.20
$422.24 % 30.16
§ 456.40 $ 32.60
$ 488.18 $ 34.87
$ 538.16 $38.44
$ 691,93 $42.28
$ 625.80 $44.70
$ 649.32 $ 46.38
$ 662.20 $47.30
$ 683.90 $ 48.85
3 706.88 3 60.42
$ 734.68 $ 52.47
3 774.48 $ 56.32
$ 804.86 $57.49
$ 842.62 $60.18
3 864.78 $61.77
$918.68 $ 66.62
§937.72 $66.98
$ 947.38 $ 67.67
$984.48 $70.32
$1,028.44 $73.46
$1,065.26 % 76.09
$1,124.48 $ 80.32
$1,161.44 $ 82.96
$1,200.50 $86.76
$1,233.40 $88.10
$1,266.16 $90.44
$1,313.48 $ 93.82
$1,381.66 $98.69
$1,443.68 $103.12
$1,491.00 $106.60
$1,668.70 $112.06
$1,696.98 $114.07
$1,688.02 $113.43
$1,679.48 $112.82
$1,601.32 $114.38
$1,622,18 $1156.87
$1,642.34 $117.31
$1,663.76 $118.84
$1,700.30 $121.45
$1,748.74 $124.91
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